Orange Rolls and Swimming Pools

The dear husband is off work today.  And, since it’s Saturday, the kids are home, plus we have a bonus kid.  And I had the pleasure of sleeping in.  Yay!  After a couple cups of coffee, I finally felt like working on something that resembles breakfast.  I popped in a pan of orange rolls (don’t judge).  Then, decided to go outside to check on the pool.  The dear husband came with.

The pool resembled a small swamp earlier in the week and I’ve been working to get it ready for swimming.  So, we went out to clean the filter (which is a two person job).  I knew I had orange rolls in and felt certain I had plenty of time to get done before they were ready.  The husband asked about the orange rolls and I told him they’d be fine.  As soon as I got the filter back in the pump and turned it on, he sprinted towards the house, leaving me standing beside the pool feeling a bit abandoned.  I assumed he was running to check on the rolls (because we’ve been married a really long time and I know him) and tried to yell after him that they’d be fine, it wasn’t time for them to be ready.  But, like a flash, he had bolted and was already too far away to hear me.

Now, what you need to know is that it irritates me to no end for someone to ask my opinion then ignore what I tell them.  He asked about the orange rolls.  I told him we had plenty of time.  Then, he sprinted to the house like it was on fire before completing the outside job.  I was irritated.  A lot!  As I was preparing to express my irritation, God stopped me with this thought…

How often do we do that to Him?

Think about it.  You run into a problem.  You run to God with it.  You talk to your friends about it.  You ask them to pray.  But then, when an answer comes, whether it be through God’s Word, a person or a direct word from God Himself, you doubt it and do something entirely different.  You run to check the orange rolls even though they’re fine!

Even the act of worrying amounts to that.  You say you trust God, you present your problem, then you stress over it.  And yes, I’m guilty also.  But, how often are we so busy worrying that we miss what God’s telling us?

For some reason, while I was writing this, the hymn “What a Friend We Have In Jesus” popped in my head, specifically this verse:

Have we trials and temptations? Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged; take it to the Lord in prayer.
Can we find a friend so faithful who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness; take it to the Lord in prayer. ~ Joseph M. Scriven, 1855

…which I find a bit amusing because truthfully the hymn “Leave It There” is more suited to my point.  This verse especially:

Leave it there, leave it there,
Take your burden to the Lord and leave it there;
If you trust and never doubt, He will surely bring you out—
Take your burden to the Lord and leave it there. ~ Charles A. Tindley, 1916

Either way, the point is this:  Trust God.  Trust Him to do what He says He will do.  Rest in His arms and in His plan.  He is faithful.

God is faithful, through whom you were called into fellowship with His Son, Jesus Christ our Lord. ~ 1 Corinthians 1:9 NASB

Faithful is He who calls you, and He also will bring it to pass.  ~  1 Thessalonians 5:24 NASB

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

