Powerless

My kids have been at the beach all week. They went down last Friday with my mom. The dear husband and I had a lot of work to do to clear the rest of the stuff out of our old house and get it into storage. Then, for me, a short beach vacation with my mom and kiddos.

As I was driving down Veterans Highway, just minutes from my destination, I passed a truck pulling a pontoon boat. Now, you need to know, I am amused by the simplest things. Today, that simple thing was a shiny metal rotor on the engine of that boat. As the boat was being zipped down the highway, that little silver rotor was turning like crazy. Like a child drawn to a pinwheel, I simply couldn’t keep my eyes off of it!

As I watched the rotor twirl in the wind, I thought about the fact that it wasn’t really moving the way it was supposed to, it was simply going along with the flow. I know that, as soon as the truck stopped, the rotor would quit turning. You see, it had no power. Without the engine running, it was nothing more than a pretty bauble for passers-by to gaze upon.

It made me think of some folks I’ve known. You’ve probably known some of these folks too. They find a church they like. They get involved and attend every time the door opens. They are swept along with the flow of programs and fellowship dinners. They make their way down to an altar and begin to claim Christianity. Then, something happens. Life throws them a curve ball. And the next thing you know, this once “on fire Christian” slips away from the faith. Sometimes, they even denounce God and church and Christianity altogether. And we’re all standing around scratching our heads wondering what happened.

Well, I think I know what happened. I think those folks were like my shiny silver rotor today. They were grabbed by the hand by a well meaning Christian and led through the steps of “getting saved,” and swept along in the current of church busyness. They were doing everything right. Except they were missing something. The thing. Power. The power that can only come through a true relationship with Jesus.

Now, does this mean we quit doing altar calls? Or quit putting new members to work? No, not necessarily. I think what it means is that as believers, we need to make sure we’re introducing people to Jesus, not just telling them about Him. Because when life falls apart and they need a hand to hold, ours just won’t be enough. They need to know Jesus themselves so they can call on His name for themselves!

Now…go out there and introduce some people to Jesus!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Powerless

  1. Sara says:

    My Friend,

    I think the concept of your post is great, we do need to reach the lost. However, I think you are wrong in you example.

    It reminds me of the story in the Bible where Jesus says John 8:7 (KJV)
    So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.

    People fall, People fail that is why we need JESUS. The disciples were not perfect either Peter denied Him publicly.

    My friend, if you are seeing this happen in your church to your brothers and sisters in Christ pray for them love them.

    1 Cor 13:4. Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant

    I said a prayer for you and your friends today. May God bless you

    • Dear Sara,

      I appreciate you reading my post and I appreciate your input, but I think you may have missed the point.

      We have no power without Jesus. There is power in the very name of Jesus. When we truly give our lives to Him, He lives within us and gives us the power to do what He calls us to do. We can’t even love properly without Him. The Bible says, “Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. 8The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love.” 1 John 4:7-8 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” John 15:5

      I wasn’t being judgmental, I was being truthful. 1 Corinthians 13 also says, ” Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.” (v 6). And the truth is that we are called to love and to tell the world about Jesus. That’s it. Those are our jobs. ‘Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”’ Matthew 22:37-40 “By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” John 13:35

      Yes, the lost need to be reached. Yes, people fail (even saved people). But, this wasn’t really about either one of those things. It was more about people who are swept away in the tide of ear tickling services and good music and fun programs and miss the real point of why we should be doing all that – Jesus. Without Jesus, there is no hope. I want to see people saved. But I want to see them fall in love with Jesus so that when everything else falls away, they will still have the Rock securely under their feet. That, my friend, is the definition of love to me – to introduce people to the real Jesus! Not a program or music or a good sermon, but to Jesus Himself.

Leave a Reply

