Bloom Where You’re Planted

My sweet husband won’t let me have a gun.  I don’t know why…something about road rage, shooting him in his sleep, blah, blah, blah.  In fact, I had never even shot a gun until a few months ago.  As of now, I’ve only been to the shooting range twice.  One, I really liked it!  (First confession of this post).  Two, I was shocked by how difficult it was to shoot.

Which brings me to my second confession. I love Criminal Minds.  Yes, the television show.  I will watch Hotch and the gang chase criminals for hours on end.  Tonight, I was watching Morgan (Who…third confession…I have a small crush on.) run through an empty warehouse with his gun in one hand and flashlight in the other, kind of crossed over each other.  I find it a bit amusing how easy they make it look on tv, to hold a gun in one hand and shoot it accurately.  Or to shoot while running and still hit the suspect.  Because, let me tell you….it’s not that easy.  I have to stand reeeeallllly still and hold my breath and squeeze really hard.  invariably, I end up closing my eyes.  Miraculously, I’m a fairly good shot.  (Another reason the dear husband won’t let me have a gun!).  But…it’s not easy.  Not like they make it look!

And that got me to thinking.  How often do we look at each others’ lives and assume that they have it so much easier than us?  Maybe we think their money or lifestyle or body shape or hair or spouse or children or house or job or (I could keep going) whatever makes their life so much easier or more desirable than ours.  Just like guns on television, it’s not necessarily exactly the way you think.

Many years ago, I remember a divorced friend at church coming up to me and telling me what a great example my husband and I were.  She told me how much she loved watching us and that she wanted a relationship just like ours.  I was incredulous!  I shook my head and assured her that no, she most certainly did not want a marriage like mine.  You see, we weren’t happy!  We managed to put on smiley faces (read masks) at church, but we were miserable.  Thankfully, God, in His goodness, restored our marriage and love for each other.  But, at the time, the assessment by my sweet friend was absolutely incorrect.

We have to live the lives we have.  We don’t have anyone else’s life, only our own.  That seems like a dumb statement, but to long for what others’ have is to long for their life.  That’s theirs – the good, the bad and the ugly – to deal with.  And we have to deal with our own.  “Bloom where you’re planted!” is something I learned as a young Christian and I would say that’s absolutely true.  I believe, with all my heart, that those who belong to God and follow Him are living the lives He has for us.  Psalm 37:23 says “The LORD directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives.” NIV. 

So.  Take a good look at your life.  Are you following God’s leading?  If so, then hang on, you’re exactly where He wants you.  And, just as I wrote yesterday, He has a purpose for your life!  Quit longing for someone else’s blessings – they come with baggage you can’t imagine.  Learn to love your own life, because it’s the only one you’ve got!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

