Just Keep Swimming

Have you ever noticed that when God really wants you to understand something, He will repeat Himself?  It is a common theme in the Bible, when something is important, it’s repeated.  It shouldn’t be all that surprising, really.  As a parent, I know if I want my children to absorb what I’m saying, I must repeat myself (much to their chagrin).  If this is true like I think it is, there’s a message that God must really want me to get right now.

The best friend and I have a habit of telling each other to “just keep swimming, swimming, swimming.”  If you’re a parent, grandparent or Disney fan, you probably recognize those words as coming from Dory in the movie “Finding Nemo.”  Nemo’s dad is a completely neurotic clown fish (we won’t talk about how much I relate to him!) who is on a mission to find his son who was taken by divers.  With nothing more than a face mask with an address he can’t read(the diver conveniently dropped it), Marlin sets off to find someone to read the mask, then find Nemo.  He runs across Dory, an angel fish with short term memory issues.  What Dory lacks in memory, she makes up for in love and enthusiasm!  (We all need a Dory in our lives!).  When Marlin starts stressing over the magnitude of his quest and the hopelessness of it, Dory annoyingly sing-songs “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming, swimming, swimming…”

This week, though, I haven’t been listening to myself.

Just yesterday, I was saying how easy it is to get bogged down in your own “stuff” and forget to look around.  Satan knows that we can get so focused on our own issues, problems…even blessings!…that we forget that it’s not about us.  Remember…I just wrote about it….true joy comes from following this hierarchy: J – Jesus, O – others, Y – yourself.

But, I still wasn’t listening.

In the shower today, I was crying out to God for answers.  He reminded me that I was so focused on the problem, that I wasn’t taking the steps to get where He wanted me, to a better place.

Okay.  I’m starting to listen.

Then, He used Facebook to help me.  In a space of three or four posts, I saw these two quotes…

Focus on where you want to go, not on what you fear. ~ Anthony Rollins

God may force you to move forward not because He’s trying to make your life miserable, but because He has a great desire to see you reach your full potential. ~ Joel Osteen

Okay, Lord, I get it!

So, now, I’m going to remind you.  Life is messy.  It’s hard.  Even the good stuff comes with extra baggage.  But, we can’t stay stuck where we are.  And the only way to move forward is to….well….just do it.  Just keep swimming.  Don’t look around because there’s too much stuff to distract you.  Don’t look back because that’s already done and you can’t redo it.  And don’t think too much.  Just follow God’s path and have faith that He really does know what He’s doing!

Let your eyes look directly ahead
And let your gaze be fixed straight in front of you.
Watch the path of your feet
And all your ways will be established.
Do not turn to the right nor to the left;
Turn your foot from evil.  Proverbs 4:25-27

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

just keep swimming

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Keep Swimming

  1. kaelinkedwards says:

    Great post! I’m a new follower, and I look forward to reading your content.

    I’m a Christian blogger as well. You can check out some of my posts at http://www.KaelinEdwards.com

    God bless!

Leave a Reply

