Hope Deferred

I was watching Criminal Minds (you know that’s my favorite show!) and one if the characters said, “hope is paralyzing.” I couldn’t get the thought out of my head, so I decided to share my thinking with you.

Hope is paralyzing. What a sad thought. Think about it, though. Hope can be paralyzing! Unless. Unless your hope is where it should be.

When I started rolling that statement through my heart and soul, part of a hymn started rolling along with it.

“My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus Christ, my righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.”

Source: http://www.hymnal.net/en/hymn/h/298#ixzz39IkNTL5I

So often I will catch myself saying, “I hope…” It can end with any number of things, like “the traffic isn’t bad.” “The weather is good.” “The meeting is short.” “You have fun.” We all do it. But, the truth is, unless our hope is centered in Jesus, then, well, it can be paralyzing. If we hope our job pays better without looking to our Source, we may be disappointed. If we hope for healing in relationships, without looking to Jesus for our hope, we may get our hearts or feelings hurt. If we hope for anything, rather than in Jesus, we’re setting ourselves up for disappointment.

The Bible says, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick.” Proverb 13:12a. To defer is to put off or delay. I used to take this verse as not getting something you long for. Tonight, though, I’m looking at it with different eyes. If we delay placing our hope in God, that makes our heart sick. Psalm 39:7 says, “And now, Lord, for what do I wait? My hope is in You.” 1 Timothy 1:1 says Christ Jesus is our hope.

So…what are you hoping for? Friends? Money? A spouse? A home? My friend, none of that will bring you joy and peace. Yes, they can add to it, but without Jesus, we are hopeless!

I think that hymn that was in my head says it best:

On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

His oath, His covenant, His blood,
Support me in the whelming flood;
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my hope and stay.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found;
In Him, my righteousness, alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.
~Edward Mote

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

