Blue Water

The glassware came with the house.  I’ve dusted around it, looked beyond it, but other than that, I haven’t paid it much attention.  It’s deep blue – maybe cobalt? – and lives in the kitchen windowsill.  Yesterday, as I stood at the kitchen sink, washing the oldest kid’s book bag, I suddenly noticed the water was starting to turn blue.  At first, I was a bit startled.  Quickly, though, I realized it was the sun shining through the glassware and into the stream of water.  I don’t know why this was the first time I noticed it.  Maybe I wasn’t watching well enough before.  Maybe the sun was in just the right position and I had never been running water at that exact second.  Maybe.  At any rate, as I watched the blue light reflecting in the water coming out of the faucet, it made me think.  Obviously, the water wasn’t blue.  It was simply the reflection of the sun streaming through the water.

And so it goes with us.  What is “coloring” your perception?  Is it hate? Envy? Strife? Low self-esteem? Anger?  Fear?  Or are you allowing God’s love to color your perception of life around you?

When my sweet husband was diagnosed with MS so many years ago, we weren’t very grounded in our faith.  We had only recently rededicated our lives to Christ and our walk was shaky.  Because we were allowing fear to color the situation, we found ourselves asking, “Why us, Lord?”  As time went on, and his healing seemed unlikely, we encountered folks who were convinced that either we didn’t have enough faith or that we had sin in our lives.  In their perception, that was the reason we had no healing.  However, we had come to learn that God loves us, no matter what.  Yes, even when we we’re struggling with an incurable, chronic illness.  We allowed His love to color our perception and chose to thank Him for our victories, rather than hold a grudge that there had been no healing.  In time, the husband, indeed our very family, was healed and we were thankful.

What I have found since then was that not only am I able to view life’s happenings through God’s love, but also through that thankfulness.  Over and over, God has proven Himself to be our Healer, our Provider, our Peace.  From those experiences, we have built a large collection of “glasses” for the “Son” to shine through.  No, life isn’t easy.  We’re in a place now that makes others ask what we’ve done wrong.  But, in my saner moments, I’m able to look through my faithful eyes and see that His hand has been on our family every step of the way. 

How about you?  Are you looking through circumstances (or the emotions that come with those circumstances) or through the truth of all God’s promises?  Not sure what they are?  Here are a few to get you started…

“…I have called you friends…” John 15:15

“If you ask the Father for anything in My name, He will give it to you.”  John 16:24

“He who hears My word, and believes Him who sent Me, has eternal life, and does not come into judgment but has passed out of death into life.”  John 4:24

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28

“Whoever will call on the name of the Lord will be saved.”  Romans 10:13

“Come to me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11:28

“Lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”  Matthew 28:20

“But seek His kingdom, and these things will be added to you.”  Luke 12:31

“The Lord is near to the brokenhearted.” Psalm 34:18

“His favor is for a lifetime.”  Psalm 30:5

“I will cry to God Most High, To God who accomplishes all things for me.”  Psalm 57:2

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue Water

  1. It’s all about perception, isn’t it? I’m so glad that Gods perception of us never changes! Thanks for sharing this lovely post. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

