Show Me Your Friends

Last night, I accidentally song-bombed myself.  I went to bed with the words, “I am a friend of God, I am a friend of God….He calls me friend…”  (If you don’t know it, look it up on youtube.)  It came from writing the scripture, “No longer do I call you slaves, for the slave does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I have heard from My Father I have made known to you.”  John 15:15 NASB

Friend.  That’s pretty powerful, don’t you think?  I recently saw a meme on Facebook that said, “Show me your friends and I’ll show you your future.”  When we consider that Jesus is the only way to Heaven, that’s a pretty profound statement.

If you’re wondering how on earth I can claim to be God’s friend, let me show you a few scriptures…

“The Lord would speak to Moses face to face, as one speaks to a friend. Then Moses would return to the camp, but his young aide Joshua son of Nun did not leave the tent.”  Exodus 33:11 NIV

“Oh, for the days when I was in my prime, when God’s intimate friendship blessed my house.”   Job 29:4 NIV

“But you, Israel, my servant, Jacob, whom I have chosen, you descendants of Abraham my friend.”  Isaiah 41:8 NIV

“When Jesus saw their faith, he said, “Friend, your sins are forgiven.”  Luke 5:20 NIV

“I tell you, my friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body and after that can do no more.”  Luke 12:4 NIV

“After he had said this, he went on to tell them, “Our friend Lazarus has fallen asleep; but I am going there to wake him up.””  John 11:11 NIV

Now, if you are one of those folks who say that was only in Biblical times, how about these…

Before the mountains were born or You gave birth to the earth and the world, even from everlasting to everlasting, You are God.  Psalm 90:2

“For I, the Lord, do not change.”  Malachi 3:6a NASB

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.”  Hebrews  13:8 NASB

“Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation of shifting shadow.”          James 1:17 NASB

“I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty.”  Revelation  1:8 NASB

Okay, so, can we agree that God doesn’t change?  And that He was friends with Moses, Abraham, Lazarus and the disciples?   Did you know that Jesus said, “You are my friends if you do what I command.” in John 15:14 (NIV)?  I conclude that we can call God our friend and that He calls us friend.

I hope you’re friends with Jesus.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

 

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

