Have You?

Day by day,
Week by week,
Month by month,
Doing the same old things.
Preaching to the same people.
Praying for the same things.
Like a band playing to a sinking ship.
We sit comfortably inside the walls of a fortress
While those who matter perish at the gate.
Our hearts are wrapped up in what makes up happy
While we ignore the command to tell the world.
Who are you reaching,
Sitting in your pew?
Who are you loving,
With your music and sound system
And light show so new?
What will God say
When you finally stand before Him?
Have you done enough?
Loved enough?
Reached enough?
True discipleship isn’t comfortable.
It may not be fun.
It will stretch you,
Hurt you,
Confound you,
Confuse you,
But it will never be irrelevant.
Because in the midst of it,
When you’ve stretched all you can
When you don’t understand
When you give more than you have
When you obey, no matter what
In that, you will touch the face of God.
And never be able to go back to the ordinary.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have You?

  1. bviditi says:

    A way to God.. nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

