Let’s Get Real

My family isn’t in church right now.  When we moved, we moved too far away from our church to continue going.  The dear husband works a retail schedule which makes it difficult to get to church as a family.  And…Can I be real here?  And….we’ve grown a bit cynical.

The Church is supposed to be the body of Christ.  Not a building.  Not a gathering.  But, a people.  Yet, we’ve made it into a gazillion dollar business that is more interested in appearances than in people.  More interested in how often you attend, what you wear and what music you listen to than how you live your life outside those walls.  It’s become a social gathering for the called rather than a safe place for the lost.

My heart broke tonight as my husband recounted a conversation he had with a coworker about “Christians.”  This man has rejected the idea of a loving God because of the “Christians” he has known.  His opinion of Christians is that we’re all hypocrites.

I cried today as I looked at the picture of the arm of a “cutter.”  Her pain runs deep.  She goes to church regularly.  And wears long sleeves because one too many “Christians” has judged her for her cuts rather than love her through her pain.

With dismay, I listen to my children’s opinion of church.  They, along with many of their friends, have been wounded by those who claimed to love Jesus and them, but turned their backs as soon as our walk looked a little too different from theirs. 

So.  I’ve been reading.  I’ve been looking at what the early New Testament “church” looked like.  And I’ve decided that not many “institutional” churches are getting it right.  It may seem judgmental of me.  It may seem like an excuse or a cop out.  But, I must follow what I believe God has put before me.  For now, that means starting a gathering in my home. 

Jesus said,  For where two or three have gathered together in My name, I am there in their midst.” Matthew 18:20.  And that’s what I want.  I want more Jesus.  He also said,By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.” John 13:35.  Notice, it didn’t say if we follow the rules or go to church or act pious.  As the Beatles sang, “All we need is love.”

Would you like to join us on this journey?  We’re looking for people who are real.  People who love the Lord and want time with other believers.  People who don’t know this Jesus and think we’re crazy.  People who love church.  People who hate church.  Wounded people.  Lonely people.  Sad people.  People.  Because, at the end of the day, we’re all the same. We’re all looking for the same things….love and acceptance.  And that’s what the Jesus of the Bible has to give.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

 

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let’s Get Real

  1. I think we are the same type of people :). I used to, and still do, think the same things. But about 18 months some friends and I started taking church to the homeless and its completely changed us. Church is real now.

  2. Terry McRae says:

    Yes…I have said for a long time you can’t win a battle if you aren’t on the battlefield. The battlefield is where the people are…You are a blessing and I love you! I wish I lived closer I would love to join you.

Leave a Reply

