SRRSLY?

I was up earlier than expected this morning. I’m pretty sure God did it on purpose.  I got a cup of coffee and grabbed my “100 Days of Prayer for a Godly Woman” book.  Because I rarely do anything in order, and because I’ve had the book awhile, meaning I’ve read most or all of it, I randomly flipped pages until I found a subject that felt appropriate for my life right now.  The subject I stumbled on was trust.

Hmmmm.  Deep subject.  And a popular subject.  Maybe you think I can’t say anything you haven’t already read or heard.  And you may be right.  But, I can tell you this…I’ve learned more about trusting God in the last year  than I knew previously.  And I thought I trusted God. 

Do you remember the old Nationwide commercials?  The ones that used the catchphrase, “Life comes at you fast.”?  That’s the thought that popped in my head as I started pondering this trust thing this morning.  Yesterday, at church (yes!  I went to church!  And the rafters didn’t cave in!)  Anyway, yesterday at church, the pastor was talking about situations in life.  He said something that I’ve said over and over in the last six months.  “I never could have imagined being here.”  Yep, that simple.  And, “here” isn’t the sticks, although it’s part of it.  It’s the very fact that we’ve found ourselves in the life situation that we’re in.  We followed the rules.  We obeyed God.  We did what we were supposed to do.  Yet, here we are.  From the outside, I’m certain we look utterly crazy.  Believe me when I tell you that it feels pretty crazy from the inside.  But, as Nationwide pointed out, life does come at you fast.

One of my favorite words is “seriously?”  It’s that word that covers those situations that make absolutely no sense.  And, believe me when I tell you that I’ve said, “Seriously GOD?” a lot!  Months ago, I saw a license plate that clearly belonged to someone who understands.  It read, “SRRSLY?”

Now, I know I’m not the only one in a SRRSLY situation.  I have a great nephew who’s in the hospital.  The doctors seemed stumped.  His mommy and daddy are beside themselves with worry.  But…God wasn’t surprised.  I have friends who are single when they thought they’d be married forever.  But, God knew ahead of time it would happen.  I helped sift through the ashes of a burned out home a couple weeks ago.  My uncle and his wife built the house five or six years ago.  She lost him last year and lost her house last month.  She said, as the house was burning, all she could think was, “my house is burning to the ground.”  Her shock was greater than her grief at that moment.  But, God knew.

God knew all of those situations before time even began.  And….here’s the big part….He had the provision planned already.  He knows what’s going on in my nephews body.  He knew husbands weren’t going to do their part in those marriages.  He knew my aunt would face unspeakable grief two Augusts in a row.  And He had a plan in place already. 

My aunt has been utterly overwhelmed by the kindness of strangers in the midst of her tragedy.  Folks who heard of her plight donated money and items she could use.  And God has used it.  He’s used it to teach her more of Himself.  To draw her into closer relationship with Him.  To open her eyes to needs beyond her close friends and family.  My sweet aunt will never be the same and I suspect those she comes into contact with won’t either.  You see, she’s met God in a totally new way and it changes you forever.

Trust.  What I’ve learned about trust is that it doesn’t make sense.  I had once heard that trust isn’t trusting God to do what you think is right, but rather trusting Him, even when you think it’s wrong.  Yes.  That’s what I’ve learned.  Life has come at me fast and isn’t turning out at all the way I thought it would.  It doesn’t make sense to me.  It really doesn’t make sense to anyone who isn’t intimately involved in the situation.  But.  God has me here.  He knew the situations that would come and He was prepared.  He planned this all along.  Yes, even the parts that I view as mistakes.  And I wouldn’t trade the faith I’ve gained for anything….especially for the life I had planned, because my imagination isn’t nearly as good as God’s!

So.  Do you find yourself in a situation that makes no sense?  Is life coming at you faster than you can handle?  Are you in a precarious situation and have no clue what’s going to happen?  Good news!  You’re in the best place to have a life-changing meeting with God!  Trust Him.  He really does know best how to direct your life. 

Not sure how to trust Him?  Start here: spend time with Him.  Read His word, listen to a good sermon, soak in some worship music, pray.  Ask Him for what you need, then be quiet and listen.  Jeremiah 29:13 says, “You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.”  James 4:8 says, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.”  Hebrews 11:6 says, “And without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who seek Him.  If that worries you, if you’re sure you don’t have enough faith, look at what Luke 17:5 says, The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith!”‘  See!  You can even trust Him to give you enough faith to trust Him.

God is good.  And loving.  And kind.  And He does nothing in the life of a believer that isn’t useful somehow.  Trust Him to know how it’s supposed to play out and rest in the knowledge that you don’t need all the answers.  You just need Jesus.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

psalm 37

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

