Harvest Time!

As you may know, our family moved from the city of Charlotte to the small, rural town of Taylorsville (also known as “the sticks”) about six months ago. The culture shock has been more than I could have prepared for, but some days it gets even more amusing.  Today was one of those days.  For weeks now, I’ve been watching the tobacco planted in the field just around the corner.  For one, I never realized that tobacco plants have flowers on the top of them.  (I LOVE flowers!)  Two, I didn’t realize that the plants look almost dead before they get harvested.  So, I’ve been wondering when they were going to pick these poor dead tobacco plants.  Earlier in the week, I realized the answer is…well…now.  

This morning, as I was traveling the main highway through Stickville (read: two lane road everyone travels slowly, despite the 55mph speed limit), I got behind a string of traffic going – you guessed it – slow.  It’s not that unusual, but we were moving slow, even by stick standards.  It was then that I noticed we were behind a tobacco truck.  The thought occurred to me that I may as well get used to it, since there seem to be quite a few tobacco fields around and, apparently, it’s harvest time.  And that led my brain on a whole different rabbit trail…

Years ago, the dear husband and I did the Bible study “Experiencing God.”  It was truly life-changing for us and I find myself frequently mentally referring back to the lessons I learned.This morning, it was “God has the right to interrupt your life.”  You see, I couldn’t help but think of the verses in Matthew where Jesus said, “Then he said to his disciples, ‘The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few.  Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.’” (Matthew 9:37-38).

Our lives have been interrupted.  We’re living in the sticks when we thought we’d be living in the city.  We’re working jobs we didn’t expect.  Our kids are in schools we didn’t plan.  But, God is at the heart of it.  This is His plan.  Some days, I catch aglimpse of what I think He might be doing, but most days I just have to trust that we heard Him correctly and He knows what He’s doing.  We had prayed, “Whatever, Lord.  Whatever You ask, we will do.”  This is NOT what we expected.  But, as He promised, He hasn’t failed us, hasn’t left us to our own devices, hasn’t let us go without.  And the relationship we’ve developed with Him has gotten deeper than we could have imagined.  We believe we’ve been sent to help with the harvest.  No, not the tobacco harvest, but the people harvest.  Why here?  I couldn’t begin to tell you.  I’m certain God has His reasons.  In the meantime, we shall do our best to serve Him and lead others to Him.

How about you?  Is it harvest time?  Has God interrupted your life?  Be aware, when you offer to help with the harvest, your life WILL be interrupted.  Harvest time never comes when you think it ought to!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

tobacco edit

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

