Why Remember?

wtc-cross-world-trade-center-cross

Today is September 11.  If you’re an American, then I’m pretty sure you know this day is significant.  Yes, this is the day that the impossible happened.  Our grand nation was attacked.  There were only three planes, but the terrorists managed to cripple an entire country with them.  Do you remember where you were?  What you were doing?  I do.  I remember the fear, the confusion, the horror.  But, I made a discovery last night that shocked me.  My children don’t get it.

The girl was only 4 when it happened and the boy wasn’t even thought of yet.  They can’t imagine why we have to hear so much about 9/11 every year.  I fear it all begins sounding like Charlie Brown’s teacher to them.

Sad.

But….the Lord knew we’d be like this.  That’s why He placed a rainbow in the sky – to remind us.  That’s why He instructed so many to build altars in the Bible….as a rememberance.  That’s why, in the New Testament, Jesus gave us instructions for communion – to remember Him and what He’s done.  Because, if we forget, we may also forget just how good God is.

Today, my children will both get more history than they want at school.  They will most likely attend ceremonies of some sort.  I will wear my patriotic shirt and help serve lunch to our local heroes – the police, fire, EMT folks who give so much to help keep us safe.  There will be flags everywhere.  We will remember, whether we want to or not.

In the same fashion, I will remember what the Lord has done for me.  Not just today, but everyday.  And I will tell about it.  I will share my testimony.  I will remind my children and my husband.  And anyone else who will listen.  I will talk about when I was saved, baptized in the Holy Ghost, the churches I’ve attended, the folks who’ve guided me spiritually, the miracles we’ve experienced.  This….this is what I will do:

 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.  These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts.  Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.  Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates. Deuteronomy 6:5-9

I invite you to join me and do the same.  After all, Revelation 12:11 says, “And they overcame him because of the blood of the Lamb and because of the word of their testimony.”

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

