Faith Walk

faith walk

This week, the dear husband and I got a rare treat – we took a day trip!  We left money for the kids to buy dinner and headed for the hills.  One of the places we ended up was the New River State Park in Laurel Springs, NC.  The New River fascinates me, partly because it flows backwards and partly because the water is clear.  Well, that, and I’m just innately curious about almost everything.  The last place we visited in the park was the visitors center.  I like it because they have a small area explaining the history of the river and theories behind the formation of the river.  (Yes, I’m a nerd.)  Before we left the park to our next adventure, we both decided we should visit the restroom…which is where my lesson for the day began.

I noticed as I walked in the ladies room that there was a sign on the door that said, “Lights are automatic.”  I’ve been seeing quite a few of these and didn’t think much of it.  I haven’t had to use a dark bathroom yet.  However, as I stepped in the door, I noticed there was a bit of a hallway before you actually get to the restroom part.  As I took a few steps, I was wondering when the magical light would come on.  After another step or two and the door had shut behind me and I was in a mostly dark restroom, I started getting a bit nervous.  You see, I don’t like the dark.  I’m afraid of the dark.  It’s not as bad as it used to be, but still, I don’t love the dark.  I calmed myself enough to keep walking and after a few more steps, the light came on.

Of course, God had a lesson in it for me.  Faith.  Just keep walking.  The provision will be there when you need it.

Have you ever noticed that God never teaches you a lesson without giving you the opportunity to use it?  In the New Testament, Jesus spent a lot of time teaching His disciples.  Faith was a popular subject matter.  In Matthew 6 and 7, we see Him teaching them about faith, then in Matthew 8, He put them in a boat in the middle of a storm.  Their faith wasn’t very strong at that point and He chastised them.  I can just hear Him going, “C’mon guys!  We just discussed this faith thing!”  Well, God had taught me a faith lesson, now He was going to see if I could pass the test!

As we headed from the park to another place, the gps took me on a tiny, winding two-way road that seemed barely enough for our car.  My first instinct was to turn around and find a better road.  But, this road wound tightly beside the river and I couldn’t resist the views I knew we’d get.  So, I stayed on it.  (Yes, I was driving.  The dear husband and I get along much better when I drive!).

We had only gone about a half a mile when I saw a school bus headed our way.  Quickly headed our way.  And it wasn’t moving over.  I had no choice but to move out of its way.  I tried hugging our side of the road and there simply wasn’t enough room.  Out of options, I dropped the right wheels off the road and hoped for the best.  The grinding noise we heard made us cringe.  When the bus passed by, I pulled back on the road and was greatly chagrined to hear a thump/scrape noise.  We both thought we had a flat tire.  I was wondering if our spare was in good shape, if we had a jack, if we could find a safe place to change a tire.  We determined to pull off as soon as possible to check it out.  Soon, I found a house with a wide drive and eased the car off the edge of the road.

I got out in time to see the puzzled look on the dear husband’s face.  The tire wasn’t flat.  A woman who was passing by stopped to be sure we were okay.  We sent her on with assurances that we’d be fine.  We both looked under the car and around the tire, but could see nothing.  As we stood there wondering what to do, God reminded me of my little faith-walk lesson in the bathroom.  So, I laid my hand on the car and prayed.  I think it was something very eloquent, like, “God fix our car, please!”

We got back in, took a deep breath and pulled off.  No noise.  Nothing.  The car was fine.  Glory be to God!  He is good.  And meets our every need!

Now, I know a tire may not seem like a big deal, but you must understand, money is very tight around our house.  Part of the reason we never get day trips is the money.  But, we had decided to do it anyway.  There was no money to fix the tire or the car or whatever.  To us, right now, it’s a big deal.  And because it’s a big deal to us, it’s a big deal to God.

Now, here’s the really cool part.  God is no respecter of persons.  What He does for one of His children, He’ll do for another.  He doesn’t love me more than He loves you!  His provision is available for you too.  Just step out in faith.

Matthew 6:33 says, “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”  The “these things” Jesus had been talking about were food and clothing.  Necessities.  In Matthew 7:11, Jesus then says, “If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in Heaven give good gifts to those who ask Him!”

So.  What do you have need of today?  Is it a basic necessity like food or clothing?  Is it a health concern?  Is it an emotional need?  Whatever it is, seek Him.  Seek to love and serve Him and watch how He will meet your every need.  The faith walk isn’t always easy, but it’s so worth it.  It would be nice to have the money to not care if I bust a tire, but it’s so much more fulfilling to know that I have a Heavenly Father who will take care of my tire.  Since I can’t seem to have both right now, I will choose faith in God.

What will you choose?

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in mountains and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

