The Pudding Package

The Pudding Package

My baby girl is sick.  Okay, she’s not a baby.  In fact, she’s almost an adult.  But, she’ll always be my baby, especially if she’s sick!  Which explains why, when she asked if I would make pudding for her, I promptly got busy.  As I was opening the package, I was reminded of another box of pudding from long ago.

When my girl really was a baby (or not much older), a box of pudding changed my life.  I know.  That seems like a pretty big statement for something so small!  But, it’s true.

You see, the dear husband and I had lived the first few years of married life pretty much buying what we wanted, when we wanted.  Then.  Multiple Sclerosis.  Terrible diagnosis.  We had just bought a house.  The next month we found out we were expecting a baby.  Shortly after she was born, the dear husband’s MS took a turn for the worse.  The part-time job he had worked was no longer an option.  Neither was the over-time he’d been picking up.  I had worked full-time, but when the girl was born, we decided that I didn’t make enough to justify daycare.  So, I became a stay-at-home mom.  Our finances took quite a hit.  We were poor.  Or at least we thought we were.

And, my faith wasn’t very deep.  I had heard (some of) the verses about God providing, but didn’t truly believe it.  I believed it in a vague, sort-of, “God helps those who help themselves” way.  But I didn’t really believe He could (or would) reach down from Heaven and provide my day-to-day needs.  I was terrified.  I cried so many days, wondering what would become of us.

It was in this frame of mind that I opened the package of pudding.  Chocolate pudding.  JELL-O pudding.  As I poured the contents of the package into the milk, something caught my eye.  A piece of paper, small and colorful and folded.  As I unfolded it, God made me aware of Him in an entirely new way.  I had won!  Not only that, I had won a prize that wasn’t being advertised.  It was a secret give-away, the paper explained.

Oh. My.

God had chosen to reveal Himself in a mighty way that day.  He revealed Himself as my Provider!  I knew this was a gift from Him, even if I did have to address the envelope to JELL-O.  It may have only been $50, but to me, it was priceless.  God knew.  He saw.  And He provided.  Exactly when I needed it – both financially and spiritually.

Many times since then, I’ve had to lean into that knowledge that God is my provider.  Never has He failed me.  Never have I or the dear husband or our children gone without.  Never.

As I opened that package tonight, my heart rejoiced at that first glimpse of my Jehovah Jirah.  And I took the opportunity to tell my daughter.  Because, “they overcame him because of the blood of the Lamb and because of the word of their testimony.” Revelation 12:11 (“him” is the devil).  And because over and over, the Bible instructs us to tell our children of the greatness of our God.

So.  Where’s your faith?  Do you have a “the Lord helps those who help themselves” faith?  Or do you believe that God is your Jehovah Jirah, (“The LORD Will Provide” Genesis 22:14)?  If you’re not so sure about that provider thing, ask Him to reveal Himself.  And don’t be surprised when He does it in a mighty way!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

