In the Presence

In the Presence

Good Monday morning!  The last few weeks have been a whirlwind for me.  Golf always puts a strain on our schedule as it starts winding down and this year was worse than ever.  To that, add the fact that my golfer got very sick and stayed home on the sofa watching Christmas movies for almost two weeks and you have a worn-out mom!  So, after I got everyone off to school and work this morning, I sat down with coffee and Facebook.  It’s one of my favorite ways to unwind.  It also provides good fodder for my blog.  This morning, Facebook did not let me down.  So, here I am, telling you about it!

Last night, I ran across a quote about innocence that I thought was a bit sad.  It said, “Losing your innocence is like losing a limb, without innocence you can still live, you can move around. But you will never dance again, not like you once did. You will never run across a meadow without a shadow drifting over your heart.”  I can’t give credit to the original author, because the one who posted couldn’t remember.  But, I remember reading those words and thinking how forlorn they sounded. To be honest, I really didn’t think much about it after that.

This morning, I saw this quote by someone else. “When I’m with my Daddy my innocence is restored!”  (capitalization on Daddy is mine.) Honestly, it made me smile, but it didn’t stick with me any longer than the other quote did. Until…

Yep, I saw the first quote again. Okay, Lord, I’m listening. Quickly, I opened the FB pages of both posters. Ironically, they were posted at approximately the same time.  I re-read both quotes and the more I thought about it the more it made sense to me.

We live in a  fallen world.  All you have to do is look around to see it.  Disease, murder, vandalism, theft, deception….you name it, it abounds.  It’s easy to lose your innocence quickly.  Ten minutes watching the local news is more than enough.  Who is at the helm of this treachery?  Satan.  Now, I know some people don’t believe he really has that much power.  But, the Bible says,  Satan, who is the god of this world, has blinded the minds of those who don’t believe.” 2 Corinthians 4:4 NLT.  The Bible calls him the god of this world.  This world.  The one we live in.  The bad one.

Satan is a liar, a deceiver and he loves to steal innocence.  Look at Adam and Eve.  At the end of Genesis 2, we read that God had created Adam and Eve, had put them in the garden of Eden and that they were “naked and unashamed.”  Or, innocent.  He commanded them to not eat from the tree of knowledge of good and evil or they would die.   Adam and Eve had paradise at their fingertips and were living the good life.  Then, came the serpent.  The NIV says that the serpent was the most “crafty” of all the animals God had created.  He convinced Eve that she wouldn’t die, but would become like God, if she ate from the tree.  She fell for it.  Then Adam took a bite too.  And their eyes were opened.  Nope, they didn’t die (not right away, anyway.).  The Bible said they now knew good and evil.  What died in that moment was their innocence.  Stolen by the devil, disguised as a snake.

Man and woman and snake were all cursed that day.  For Adam and Eve, and every human after them, life had become hard.  The snake would spend the rest of eternity crawling on its belly.  But, more than that, every person born after that day would be born with a natural separation between him/herself and God.

Then came Jesus.  In Jesus, we have hope.  He died (and rose again) so that we may live.  What did that second quote say?    “When I’m with my Daddy my innocence is restored!”  Because Christ died on the cross for our sins, we now can go directly to God, our Daddy.  We no longer require someone to pray for us.  We can go to the throne room and sit at the feet of the King.

It reminds me of the song, “In the Presence of Jehovah.”  Read the lyrics:

In and out of situations
That tug o’ war at me;
All day long I struggle
For answers that I need.
But then I come into His presence
And all my questions become clear
And for a sacred moment
No doubt can interfere.

Chorus:
In the presence of Jehovah
God Almighty, Prince of Peace,
Troubles vanish, hearts are mended
In the presence of the King.

Through His love the Lord provided
A place for us to rest;
A place to find the answers
In the hours of distress.
Now there is never any reason
For you to give up in despair;
Just slip away and breathe His name
He will surely meet you there.

Yes, there it is…the point of this blog. Yes, losing our innocence is sad. And, I would say the first quote is on-target and beautiful, in a haunting kind of way. But, only when amended by the second quote.  Because, in God’s presence, “troubles vanish, hearts are mended.”

What about you? Have you lost your innocence? Do you feel like you’re wandering around without a limb or walking in shadows? I know the Answer! God. If you don’t know Him, He’s only a prayer away. Call His name. If you do know Him, He’s still only a prayer away! Spend time with Him and watch Him restore the best parts of you!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

