God’s Correction

Because I believe I must be authentic to be effective, I am going to be a little more plain, a little more open in this post.  Consider yourself warned.

The dear husband and I are in a hard place.  We’ve been married 22 years, have been through a lot and despite the Lord’s faithfulness, the circumstances of the last year taken a toll on our marriage.  In the past couple of months, we’ve fought more than we’ve talked, we’ve doubted more than we’ve believed and we’ve looked at the bad, rather than focusing on the good.  Yes, I know.  We shouldn’t.  But, well….we’re human.  Terribly, horribly, chronically human.

Despite the fact that we don’t like each other very much right now, we went to church together yesterday.  We got there late.  (My fault.  Act shocked even if you’re not.).  I told Keith to find us a spot.  He did.  On the front pew.  At the far right.  So that the box around the drums blocked my view of the screen.  You know….the screen where they show the lyrics to the songs they’re singing.  The songs I didn’t know yesterday.  Here is the view from where I was standing….

leigh 11.17.14 009

See what I mean?  My short self couldn’t see anything around those drums!  And, I thoughtfully waited until the musicians were gone to take the picture or you would notice that I also couldn’t see through those two men standing in front of me!

As I stood there, with tears in my eyes, grumbling to God about how thoughtless Keith had been (once again!), God started whispering to my heart.  It wasn’t all at what I expected!  He reminded me that I am supposed to be focused on Him.  He gently chastised me for being so focused on the treatment I was receiving in the marriage, that I wasn’t looking at my own actions or attitudes.  Ultimately, no matter who does what to me, I still have the responsibility of looking to God and being obedient.  I was allowing the enemy to use the friction between Keith and I to keep me from things I am supposed to be doing!  I couldn’t even worship Him during the worship service because I was too angry over not being able to read the words off the screen.  When my stubborn heart finally listened to God, He pointed out that many of the lyrics are repeated and if I would only listen, I would know what to sing.

It stung.  It really did.  I wanted God to be on my side!  As I relaxed and started listening, He ministered to my heart and made me see that, even in correction, He is always on my side.  As we left church, Keith and I were both tearful and apologetic for our behavior.  And we left with new resolve to not allow the enemy to win this battle.

The lesson God taught me yesterday is true for all believers in any situation.  We all have a weak spot.  We all have that “thing” where the enemy knows he can draw our attention away from God.  Marriage is an easy one.  Particularly when the outside circumstances are already wearing on the marriage.  Your “thing” might be different.  Maybe it’s a friendship.  Or a work relationship.  Or an addiction.  No matter what your “thing” is, the answer is the same.  Look to God.  Trust Him to guide you day by day, minute by minute.  He is faithful and will keep His promises.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

“I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; From where shall my help come? My help comes from the LORD, Who made heaven and earth.…”  Psalm 121:1-2

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God’s Correction

  1. Stephanie says:

    This was beautiful – thank you for sharing this.

  2. Thanks for the timely reminder. Yes, I have a “thing” going on in my head right now, too. So much need to find peace about & deliverance from it.

  3. Paula W. Roland says:

    Your sweetness is a blessing to all! Thank you for sharing… and yes we all have our “thang”, except me I have too many. I will be lifting you guys to our Father everyday- putting you on the mirror! Lots of love- I miss you!

  4. Pingback: God Centered | meanderingswithgod

Leave a Reply

