You’ve Got a Friend in Me

Yesterday, I wrote about the battle the dear husband and I were facing, about how the enemy of our souls had shifted our focus off God, using the person closest to us.  Last night, God used a friend to remind me that my walk isn’t my walk alone.  Everything I do affects those close to me.  So, if my walk with the Lord is getting shaky, it may affect someone else’s walk.

I got a text about bedtime last night from her.  She was facing a battle she hadn’t faced in a long time.  And she was struggling.  Thankfully, she reached out to me and I helped her fight.  I prayed with her.  I encouraged her.  I prayed for her.

But.  The truth of the matter is that I feel partly to blame.  I had let my focus shift.  When I did, I quit seeking God as often or as hard.  And, I quit pointing others to Him as frequently or fervently.  And that definitely includes my sweet friend.  As she has watched me struggle, the enemy was able to shift her focus also.

It makes me think of the quote, “No man is an island.”   Over and over in my life, I have found that to be true.  Everything we do creates ripples.  We do not live in a vacuum.  My actions not only have consequences for me, but can…and do….affect those closest to me.

Life is hard.  It’s harder if we try to do it on our own.  Galatians 6:2 says, “Bear ye one another’s burdens and so fulfill the law of Christ.”  Ecclesiastes 4:10 says, “If one falls down, his friend can help him up.  But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!”   Proverbs 13:20 says,He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed.”  And 1 Peter 3:8 says to be like-minded,  Finally, all of you, be like-minded, be sympathetic, love one another, be compassionate and humble.”  See, we all need friends.  And, if we are going to be able to help our friend up, we must be up ourselves.  Or, as Keith and I used to say, only one of us can be crazy at a time!

So.  What about you?  Do you have godly friends who will point you in the right direction when you get a little turned around?  If not, message me, I’ll be your friend.  And, are you being a godly friend?  If your focus is good, look around for someone who could use a hand.  We’re all in this together and it’s a lot easier when we help each other!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

youve got a friend in me

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

