Armed and Dangerous

swordofthespiritmuted

 

 

 

Last week, the dear husband and I discovered a new bookstore.  Okay, it’s not new, it’s been there thirty-plus years.  And we didn’t just discover it.  We knew it was downtown in the Sticks, we just hadn’t been in yet.  Which, I guess makes that whole first statement untrue.  Let’s try this…Last week, the dear husband and I finally went in the old little Christian bookstore in the sticks.  Ha!  Yep, I think that’s more accurate.

While in the bookstore, I bought myself a new book.  The title is Armed and Dangerous.  Yes, it made me very happy!  If you know anything about me, then you know this:

1. I love books.  Love, love, LOVE.  Libraries and bookstores = heaven to me.

2. I’m not allowed to have a gun.  Well, I mean legally I’m allowed to have one.  It’s just that no one in my close circle thinks it’s a good idea.  Apparently I’m a bit high-strung.  Also, we’ve discovered I’m a really good shot.  Eh, maybe a gun isn’t the best thing for me.

So, when I found a book that said Armed and Dangerous, I was all-in!

Now you’re wondering what kind of crazy little book I picked up.  Remember, people, I was in a Christian bookstore.  It’s a book of scripture!  Wait…what???

Did you know that the Bible calls scripture a sword? Ephesians 6:17 says,  And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.”  Hebrews 4:12 says  For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.  Now, I hear a couple people grumbling that the Bible was a book written by a whole bunch of men and then thrown together and voted on by a bunch of other men.  Technically, you’re right.  Except, the Bible speaks to that also. All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness.” 2 Timothy 3:16.

Okay, great.  The Bible is our sword.  Yay!  For what?  Why do we need a sword?  Good question!  Ephesians 6:12 says, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places.  Do you have a struggle?  If you answered no, I don’t believe you.  We all struggle with something….or many things.  But, according to that scripture, we’re not really struggling with what or who we think we are.  The struggle is with the devil and his demons.  So, you’re not fighting real people, you’re fighting spirits.  The only sword that will work is a spiritual one.  Or, the “sword of the spirit”….the Bible.

Even Jesus struggled.  He had been in the wilderness for 40 days with no food when the ol’ devil showed up and tried to talk him into turning the stones into bread.  Jesus’ body was weak.  But, His spirit was strong and He was able to fight the devil.  He didn’t fight him with fists.  He fought Him with scripture.  Jesus said to the devil, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God.’” Matthew 4:4.

Okay, we know that scripture is our sword and we will have a fight on our hands and that we’re fighting the devil.  Now what?  Well, you need to know the scripture to fight.  You wouldn’t pick up a real sword and start sword fighting without some practice, would you?  In the same way, we need the scripture deep down inside us so we can rely on it in our battles.  Psalm 119:11 says, “I have hidden your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you. (NLT).  We know that the way the devil “wins” is by getting us to sin.  So, there’s your answer.  Know the Word.  Read it.  Learn it.  Make it a part of who you are.  As a pastor friend of ours always said, “What’s in the well will come up in the bucket.”  Make sure your well is full of what you need!

I said all this to you and now I will confess.  I’ve gotten slack in my Bible reading.  I’ve become complacent with the Bible knowledge I have.  Right this second, I’m thinking it’s not nearly enough.  So, I’m going to challenge myself to memorize a new verse every week.  Want to join me?  Let’s add to our arsenal so we’ll be ready to fight the enemy together!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

