Trust Me

The dear husband and I, due to a weird turn of events, have found ourselves without health insurance.  We’ll have it again in January, but for now our goal has been to not get sick.  It seems I failed.  I found myself today at the urgent care with clogged sinuses allowed to brew a little too long.  I left with two prescriptions that I knew were going to be expensive and very little money.  As I stood in front of the girl at the “drop off” window, I prayed that the prescriptions wouldn’t be too expensive.  God whispered the same assurance to my heart that He’s given me over and over in the last year or so, “trust Me.”

When the pharmacy tech realized I didn’t have insurance, she asked if I would like her to check the prices.  Yes, please.  The answer wasn’t one I wanted to hear.  Combined, the two prescriptions were going to be over $120.  Ouch.  Then she asked if she could call the independent pharmacy down the street to see if they were any cheaper there.  The dear husband and I looked at each other then said sure.  As she was talking on the phone, we heard her playfully fussing at the person on the other end.  She saw the looks on our faces and explained it was her brother.  And the independent pharmacy’s prices were significantly lower and he wouldn’t close until we got there.

We rushed to the other pharmacy, filled out the necessary paperwork and waited.  Very soon, the prescriptions were ready.  The total?  $34.

When I got in the car, all I could do was cry in gratitude.  I sit here completely overwhelmed at the way God chose to provide.  First of all, that would have never happened in Charlotte!  Second, who knew that Wal-Mart’s pharmacy prices would be so much more than an independent pharmacy?!  Third, how ironic that the pharmacy tech at one store happened to have a pharmacist brother at Peoples and they were both working at that time.  I am utterly thankful for every circumstance that led us to a tiny pharmacy in a tiny town where everyone knows everyone else.

So.  How about you?  How’s your trust level?  Do you sometimes doubt that God really will provide?  Let me encourage you to simply trust Him.  In His own way, in His own time, He will provide.

Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? Matthew 6:26 ESV

trust me

Be blessed and tell somebody you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in believe, Bible, Christianity, God, trust. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

