P-Mail

This morning, while on Facebook, I ran across this meme:

Pmail

It reminded me of something that I used to do regularly, but now only do occasionally.  It wasn’t really my idea, exactly.  It was born of a women’s meeting where we were discussing encouraging and building each other up.

As I’ve mentioned here a time or two, life is hard. And sometimes we need extra prayers and encouragement. That’s where this idea started.  P-Mail, we called it, for Prayer Mail.  Yes, the actual prayer typed out for the receiver to read! How nice would it be, the leader asked, if instead of the normal junk in our email inbox, we got encouragement and prayers?  It’s wonderful to know someone is praying for you.  And I absolutely appreciate it when someone tells me they’re praying.  However, when I hear or see their prayers, it takes on a whole new meaning.

The Bible makes it clear that we need each other.  Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 says, “Two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor. For if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion. But woe to the one who falls when there is not another to lift him up. Furthermore, if two lie down together they keep warm, but how can one be warm alone? And if one can overpower him who is alone, two can resist him. A cord of three strands is not quickly torn apart.” (NASB)  Galatians 6:2 says, “Share each other’s burdens, and in this way obey the law of Christ.” (NLT).

Since we know we need each other and are to share each others’ burdens, how do we do that?  Well, the Bible tells us that too.  Ephesians 4:29 says, “Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them.”  (NLT).  1 Thessalonians 5:11 says, “Therefore encourage one another and build up one another.” (NASB).  James 5:16 says, “Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed. The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.” (NASB).

Now, I can’t toss a scripture your way that says if a person crosses your mind, you’re supposed to pray for them.  However, I lived this life long enough to know it’s at those moments when I feel the urge to pray for someone and I tell them I did it, the timing is almost always perfect.  I have to believe that our God is big enough to urge others to pray when we need it.

So.  When’s the last time you reached out and encouraged someone?  Have you prayed for them lately?  Now’s a good time!  Who knows what heart you may reach because you were sensitive to the urgings of God?

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!  And maybe send them a pmail.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, encourage, God, love, pray, prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

