No Goodbyes

No goodbyes

Late last year, just after Christmas, as 2013 was coming to a wrap and 2014 was lurking around the corner, I lost a very dear friend.  We weren’t in each others’ everyday lives anymore, but that hadn’t lessened my love for her.  We were “lifetime” friends and a large chunk of my heart was hers.  Her death was unexpected and my heart was broken.

I have grieved her hard this year.  I can’t count the number of times I’ve dreamed about her.  I think of her almost everyday.  My enduring regret has been that I didn’t get to say goodbye.  As I was crying before the Lord this week and lamenting that fact once again, an odd peace came over me.  In the next few hours, I found a song in my head that I hadn’t thought of in years.  “Friends are friends forever, if the Lord is Lord of them…”  (Michael W. Smith).

Forever.  We toss that word around so casually.  Yet, in Christ, we are promised eternity.  1 John 2:24-25 says, “As for you, let that abide in you which you heard from the beginning. If what you heard from the beginning abides in you, you also will abide in the Son and in the Father. This is the promise which He Himself made to us: eternal life.” 

As that song continued to roll in my spirit, I realized something…the pain had lessened.  A gift from God, surely.  A reminder that, it wouldn’t have been goodbye anyway….it would have been “until we meet again.”  Truthfully, the last time I saw her, I was certain I would see her again this side of heaven.  I had no reason to believe that was my last goodbye.  But, as I have thought on it, I’ve realized it doesn’t really matter.

I believe I will see Michelle again.  Ecclesiastes 3:11 says, “He has put eternity into man’s heart.” (ESV).  Eternity was in her heart.  And it’s in my heart. Surely, then, we are joined by heart, even now.  And, one day, my time on earth will be done and I will be living the rest of my eternity in Heaven too.  I’m certain she’ll be around to check on me as soon as she hears I’ve made it!  In the meantime, I’ll be seeing her in my dreams…

me and Michelle

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

