The Witching Hour

The witching hour

When I was a new mom, I made a horrible discovery.  Most babies go through a stage where they will randomly get fussy and cry, at the same time every day – often in the evening – for no apparent reason.  I also learned that it can last for hours.  And nothing stops it.  Nothing.  I soon learned that the name for this wonderful stage is “the witching hour.”

In recent years, I’ve discovered that I tend to have my own witching hour.  I typically sleep fairly well.  There are exceptions.  If something is bothering me, sleep can be sporadic.  Or sometimes God will wake me to pray.  During these times, I can normally pray and/or write until God gives me peace and I can go back to sleep.  But then….sometimes, I will wake up and my mind will be tormented.  I say tormented because these thoughts will rise up and take over every other thought.  Praying becomes almost impossible and I will be paralyzed with fear.  My witching hour time?  5am.

When I was awake during this time this morning, the words “witching hour” came to me.  To be honest, I don’t think I had ever made that connection before.  So, being the nerd I am, I googled it.  Turns out, “the witching hour” is either midnight or 3am, depending on who you ask, and is considered to be the time when ghosts, witches and demons are the most active.  Pretty far-fetched, huh?  Or, maybe not…

I’ve shared here more than once, and probably will again, the scripture, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”  Ephesians 6:12.  The rulers, authorities, powers of this dark world are satan and his demon army.  Don’t forget, he took fully one third of the angels with him when he fell from God’s favor and was cast out of heaven (Revelation 12:4), so he has plenty of man power to fill this world and make it evil.  (He’s doing a great job.).

When I think about the idea of a witching hour, and then factor in that scripture from Ephesians, I come up with spiritual warfare.  1 Peter 5:8 says, “Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.”  What better time to attack my mind than when I’ve been asleep and not on guard?

It’s scary to think how easily the enemy can attack our minds.  I’ve heard more than once that the mind is our battlefield.  The good news is, though, that God gives us power to withstand.  2 Corinthians 10:3-5 says, For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”  Ephesians 6:13-17 says,Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place,  and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.  Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

So.  What’s your witching hour?  Is it when you’re stressed?  Is it when you’re sleepy?  Is it when you’re overtired, overworked, not prayed up? It happens to everyone, I think.  The enemy knows our weak spots.  But, so does God!  So, pray.  Quote scripture.  Trust.  Tell the enemy to leave.  Because, James 4:7 says, “Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

Need a little help with scriptures to quote?  Here are a few of my favorites to get you started…

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.  James 5:16

I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears. Psalm 34:4

 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Matthew 11:28

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:6-7

For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. 2 Timothy 1:7

Come near to God and he will come near to you.  James 4:8

The Lord is my light and my salvation —  whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life — of whom shall I be afraid?  Psalm 27:1

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you.  When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.  Isaiah 43:2

I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.  John 10:10

You are my rock and my fortress.  Psalm 31:3

These are some of my favorites.  Add your favorites to the list.  Commit them to memory and speak them aloud when your “witching hour” comes.  There is life in God’s Word!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

ething.  I have my own witching hour.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Witching Hour

  1. My favorite has always been Psalm 91:1. “He that dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.” I always felt like if I was in His shadow, no other shadows could touch me. I like the rest of the Psalm 91 also, there are lots of promises of safety and rescue. Great blog, cuz.

Leave a Reply

