Whose Team Are You On?

WhoseTeam are you on

Several times this week, I’ve seen something that made me ask that very question.

My sweet baby boy has decided he wants to play basketball.  Being the good mom, I signed him up for the local recreation league.  Last night, while we were waiting on his team’s time slot, we watched the little girls play.  I think it was probably the ages seven and eight group.  Those were some competitive little girls!  It wasn’t uncommon at all to see them fighting for the ball.  In one such instance, one of the girls who was fighting for the ball came up victorious, got excited and promptly made a basket…for the other team.  Oops.

Whose team are you on, little one?

Then it was time for my boy to play.  He’s in the ages nine and ten and his team isn’t very good.  Okay, they’re not good at all.  They’re bad.  Bad News Bears bad.  The boy who always takes the ball down court isn’t great at actually hanging onto the ball.  Last night, we quit counting the number of times he got the ball, dribbled it down the court…then promptly lost it to the other team. It was painful. And it caused me to ask…

Whose team are you on, dude?

On New Years Day, I was on Facebook. (Of course). I noticed that a popular female Christian comedian I follow had posted a beautiful picture of herself with some friends, celebrating the new year. Shortly after, I saw another post from this lady. She was explaining that she wasn’t going to explain what was in her glass in that last picture, because she felt like her life should speak for itself. If she had to explain such a little thing, then her work for Christ seemed like for naught.  Of course, I had to go back to look at the picture to see what all the fuss was about.  Well, it was all over a stemmed glass with a bubbly amber liquid in it.  It could have been champagne.  Or white grape juice.  Or ginger ale.  I don’t know.  And don’t care.  But clearly some of her other fans cared.  The comments ranged from slightly snobby (What’s in your glass?) to downright preachy (I’m disappointed in you for drinking…).  As I read the many posts, I had to ask…

Exactly whose team are you on, anyway???

The Bible makes it clear that if we are followers of Christ, then we are all the “church.”  Christ is the head and we are the body. (Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.  1 Corinthians 12:27).  Now, yes, I may be the toe…or more likely the tongue…and you may be the hand or belly button, but still, we’re all joined together.    Most folks don’t go around hurting their own physical body.  But, it seems so many who carry the title “Christian” are bound and determined to hurt their spiritual body – their fellow believers.

What does the Bible say about how we should treat one another?  Good question!  Here are a few answers…

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.
  1 Thessalonians 5:11

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. Ephesians 4:29

Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification.
  Romans 14:19

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”  John 13:34-35

I notice that none of those say backbite, nitpick, criticize or ridicule.  Yes, there are folks out there making bad decisions.  Sometimes, it’s me and I need love and compassion.  According to God’s Word, if we offer rebuke or direction, it must be done carefully and in love.  And I would add, only if God has specifically directed you to do so!  I’ve seen a meme passing around Facebook that says it perfectly, I think…

Whose Team are you on

Yep.  That about sums it up.  Because…whose team are you on anyway?

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whose Team Are You On?

  1. Audrey says:

    Thank you for this admonishment Leigh! We need to hear this over and over until we as the body of Christ “get it. “. We tend to wound our own soldiers too often. Of course then we wonder why others are not drawn to Christ through us. Keeping it real!

    • Believe me when I tell you, I was looking in the mirror when I wrote this one! All too often, I’ve been quick to criticize what I didn’t understand. God has certainly put me in some odd situations to help get me out of that! =) Thank you for your encouragement, sweet friend.

  2. I’m not familiar with the person or incident and agree with your thought that we shouldn’t condemn another professing Christian and especially not slam them on Facebook, yet I do wonder about her reluctance to say what she was drinking. She could have cleared up all doubt in a minute.

    I feel that wherever possible we should be open and honest with all, willing to give a forthright answer when people ask us an honest question, and definitely “avoid all appearance of evil.” It may be disappointing to know people doubt us, but better to be humble and clear things up than leave the issue hanging so precariously.

Leave a Reply

