It’s a Real Nice Space

Last night, I was talking to a dear friend and she was telling me about her new office space.  It’s in a downtown Charlotte building on the ninth floor.  It has a beautiful view of the city.  It’s a nice office.  She hates it.  She was moved from a private office to a cubicle, not for any punishment reason, simply because that’s the new thing.  Companies have decided that’s the best use of their space.  I’m certain they’ve spent way too much money studying it and it has its purpose.  But, she hates it.  The only real positive thing she could say about it was, “It’s a real nice space.”

I found myself giggling just a little because I so get it.  I’ve mentioned that almost a year ago, God moved us from the city of Charlotte to the town of Taylorsville.  The population of Charlotte in 2013 was just under 800,000.  The population of Taylorsville in 2013 was 2063.  (I don’t know if that ginormous number has been adjusted for the addition of the Packs or not!)  But, either way, you can imagine what a culture shock it has been!

As I listened to my friend talk about her “nice space” last night, I thought about how my family and I responded to our “nice space.”  For the most part, the teenaged daughter and I adjusted very quickly.  Except the lack of a good mall.  But, I’m working though that!  We are, however, the free spirits of the family, so I guess that was to be expected.

My boys, though, are more concrete thinkers and they seem to be having a harder time with it.  My nine-year-old son is a “glass half empty” kid.  It sounds like a terrible thing to say, but it just is.  He tends to notice the negative and dwell on it.  So, when I hear him grumble about Tville, I just let it roll off my back.  However, the dear husband had a hard time with it too.  His response was often very similar to my friend’s….”well, it’s pretty up here.”  It wasn’t that he didn’t like the town.  He didn’t like the circumstances.  He always wanted to move to a small town, but he wanted to do it on his own terms.

One of the many things God has taught me in this move is this: His best doesn’t always look like a good thing.  I remember when the offer to move first came.  I had a whole list of “I can’t”s for God.  I can’t move because….blah, blah, blah.  What I had forgotten is…He can.  I mean, if He can create the earth, part the red sea, raise His son from the dead, then surely He can work out the details of my life, right?  Why, then, do we doubt Him so?

Those of us who are followers of Christ, those who are sold out to His will, those who are willing to go when He says, “Go,” are going to find ourselves in places we never meant to be.  It happened to the folks in the Bible and it’s going to happen to us.  Just ask Abraham or Ruth or David or Peter or Paul or….(I think you get the point!).  So, what to do when we follow God and find ourselves in a place we’re not so sure we love?  Well, I believe we do exactly what my friend is doing: find the positive.

Philippians 4:8 says, “And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.”  Every situation has its bright spots, even if it’s only, “It’s a real nice space.”  Find the good, praise God in the midst of it and move on with life.  ‘Cause, you know what???  It’s only temporary anyway!  This life doesn’t last.  These seasons are flying by.  Soon enough we’re gonna be with Jesus.  Why dwell on the bad when we can focus on the good?  And…God is good.  All the time!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

It's a real nice space

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

