Building vs. Tearing

My newest television addiction is HGTV.  There are several shows I love, like Beachfront Bargain Hunt and Hawaii Life and Caribean Life (see a theme?).  But, my favorite shows are the restoration shows.

As we know, life parallels the spiritual.  I think part of the reason I love the renovation shows is that they take houses that look like junk to everyone else and make them into gorgeous homes.  The realtors and contractors and designers see something there that no one else can see.  They convince the buyers to spend their money and trust them to fix the house and make it what it should be.  That’s what God does for us!

It seems like almost every one of those houses has a huge hidden issue in it, once the folks get in there working.  Maybe there’s mold or a major structure beam is weak or a support wall is crumbling.  Over and over I’ve watched the homeowners ask if that’s something that has to be taken care of.  Over and over I’ve watched the contractors assure them that, yes, this has to be taken care of because the house won’t be structurally sound if it’s left the way it is.

In the Bible, Jesus told a parable about a house built on the rock versus a house built on the sand (Matthew 7:24-27).  If you’ve been a Christian more than ten minutes, you probably already know this one.  In the parable, He equates receiving His Word and living by it as building your house on the rock.  On the flip side is not receiving His Word and living by it – that’s the house built on sand.  If you’re not sure what happens to houses built on sand, google Topsail Beach and see what happened to those cute little beach houses built directly by the water when the last big hurricane blew through.  They didn’t hold up too well!  And, neither will we!

But….you may be stuttering….I am a Christian!  I love the Lord and have accepted Him as my savior!  There is this one little thing…..a little sin I want to love and hold and hang onto.  What then?  Well, I’m not exactly sure.  But, I think it’s like those houses on the renovation shows with load bearing walls that are crumbling or support beams that are rotting.  You can pretty the house up, but if you don’t tear out the bad parts, eventually it’s going to all fall apart.

This morning, I saw a meme on Facebook that said, “You can always tell who the strong women are. They are the ones building one another up instead of tearing each other down.”  I agree wholeheartedly!  I am going to encourage and lift and strengthen with every scripture and positive quote I know to use.  Unless.  Unless your house is built on sand.  Or if you have a rotting support beam.  I’m going to love you enough to tell you the truth.  I’m not going to whitewash it and tickle your ear.  Because, just like a house with structural problems, even if you’re “built on the rock,” eventually a structural problem within the framework of your faith will bring many other things in your life crumbling down.

So.  How’s your house?  Is it a strong, solid structure built on nothing less than Jesus?  Or is it hiding a structural problem?  You know, Jesus can fix that and restore you to exactly what He wants you to be!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

topsail beachTopsail Beach after Hurricane Fran, 1996

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

