Broken Hearts

20150120-142942.jpg

Two years ago today, I received a Facebook message that changed my life. It was a message of betrayal from a source I never expected. My heart was utterly broken. And I never thought I could trust a friend again. I declared the friendship to be over and done at that moment. But God had a different idea. He made it clear that I must stay and pray and love….for a season, anyway. (He did release me eight months later.)

The day after that fateful message, I had to meet an old friend about a job. I screwed up my courage, strengthened my resolve, took a deep breath and walked into the next phase of my life. My interview was with a man I worked with many years ago and with the woman who would be my supervisor. We hit it off immediately. My old friend left us alone for a few minutes and came back to find us laughing like crazy!

On the job, she and I got along great. And then we became friends, despite our determination to not become friends with anyone at work. We learned that we shared so many experiences, including faltering best friendships. Before I knew it, we had become best friends. God had knitted our souls together and we were so-very-thankful!

Months after the message, I happened to notice the dates. 1-20-13 and 1-21-13. Now, understand, I don’t live my life by numbers. But I do have a weird habit of adding numbers…any numbers. So, as I added these dates, I noticed the first one equals 7 and the second equals 8. In the Bible, 7 is the number of completion. And the number 8? It represents new beginning. I took it as God’s reminder that this was His plan.

Why do I feel the need to write this? Because God is good. He takes every detail of our lives and turns it into something good, if we let Him. He takes our sorrow and turns it to joy. He is close to the brokenhearted. God removed me from a friendship that wasn’t very beneficial (to either one of us) and put me in a friendship that has, quite literally, changed my life and opened my eyes to aspects of God I never knew before.

Are you in a heartbreaking place right now? Cling to God’s promises! He loves you! Rush to His side and refuse to let go. He will bring you through!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow. Jeremiah 31:13

The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. Psalm 34:18

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

