What’s Your Faith Worth?

What’s your faith worth?  This morning, mine is worth $240.28.  You see, we started getting, “Hey you need to pay your phone bill” messages.  I was grumbling that they were already bugging us because the bill was due today.  After repeated texts and calls, I decided I might better check my bill and find out what was going on.  Maybe I had the due date wrong?  When I looked, I noticed that, according to the phone company, I still owed for December.  Except, I paid December.  The first week of January.  In cash.  Do I still have the receipt?  Gosh, I hope so.  Except, I can’t look because, if I have it, it’s in the car…the car that’s in the shop right now.  So, there’s nothing I can do right now except trust that God will work it out.  When I went to bed at 11pm, I was okay with that.  At 2am, when I woke in a worried state, wondering how on earth I was going to come up with another $240.28, I heard God whisper the question to my heart.  “What’s your faith worth?”

Wow.  Really?  My faith is only worth a couple hundred bucks?  It stopped me in my tracks when I realized it.  You see, the dear husband and I have lived on nothing but faith for a couple of years now.  And God hasn’t failed us.  We have a nice place to live, vehicles to drive and we haven’t gone hungry.  By much of the world’s standards, we are rich!  In the grand scheme of things, two hundred dollars or so is nothing.

Yet, I was fretting.

Remarkably, I have a great deal of faith, normally.  Especially for other folks.  You’re sick?  I have complete faith God can heal you.  Having marital trouble?  I have faith that God can work it out.  I have seen His hand too many times to doubt His ability to change any situation in a matter of seconds.

Yet, I was worried sleepless.

My husband is a walking miracle.  He was healed of multiple sclerosis.  I watched Him perform a miracle for my best friend just yesterday.  Test results that were better than they had been in years.  I know God’s amazing power first hand!

Yet, here I sit, telling you about my lack of faith over $240.28.

It seems a little funny when I think about it.  As I read over what I’ve written so far, I’m reminded of so much of what the Lord has done for me.  And, to be honest, that’s kind of the point of this blog.  We all get down and discouraged and scared and worried and fretful.  It’s normal.  We’re human.  But, just because we get there, doesn’t mean we have to stay there.

One scripture that I tend to have to remind myself of is in 1 Samuel 30:6.  It says, “And David was greatly distressed; for the people spake of stoning him, because the soul of all the people was grieved, every man for his sons and for his daughters: but David encouraged himself in the LORD his God.” (KJV).  The part I really want you to notice is where it says that David encouraged himself in the Lord.   It does not say that he texted his best friend, or called his mom or went to the pastor.  It says he encouraged himself.  I think that’s vital to our faith.  We have to be able to look to the Lord and find our strength and encouragement there.

But, how?  How do we do that?  Well, I believe part of the answer is in Revelation 12:11, “And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony.”  (KJV).  The “him” here is the enemy of our souls, the devil.  Now, who do you think wants me awake, fretting and worrying over money at 2am.  Yep, him….that deceiver himself, the devil.  Specifically, that verse is speaking about a spiritual war that will happen at time’s end.  However, as I’ve mentioned so many times, we are in spiritual warfare now.  If that’s what’s going to overcome the enemy then, I believe it will work now.  And, that’s what I did here.  I recounted some of the miracles I had watched God perform.  I rehearsed in my heart what He had already done for me.  As the dear husband and I have to ask each other fairly often, “Do you really think God brought you this far to drop you and leave you alone?”  The answer to that is a resounding NO!

Faith.  What is faith, exactly?  Hebrews 11:1 describes it as this, “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”  2 Corinithians 5:7 says, “We live by faith, not by sight.”  Did you see that?  Two verses saying that we can’t trust what we see.   One of my favorite stories that goes along with that is in 2 Kings 6.  The king of Aram was angry at the prophet Elisha for telling the king of Israel what they (the Arameans) were planning.  You see, they were at war.  The Aramean king was losing his advantage and he was not very happy with Elisha.  So, he sent an army of men with horses and chariots to scare Elisha.  It didn’t really work, but Elisha’s servant was afraid!  All he could see was that army surrounding them.  Elisha prayed to God to open the eyes of his servant (I’ve often thought that he probably prayed with a bit of a sigh).  When the servants eyes were opened, what he saw was “hills full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.”  You see, God had sent His army to protect Elisha and Elisha knew that.  But, Elisha also knew that his servant’s faith needed a little boost, so he asked God for a visual.  Oh, how I long for that visual proof sometimes!

We can’t always see how God is working for us.  And that can get really scary.  But, if you can dig just a little deeper, remind yourself of all God has done for you so far and find yourself a little measure of faith, God will reward it.

Here are a few “faith” verses to get you started….

Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done.  Matthew 21:21

Then Jesus answered, “Woman, you have great faith! Your request is granted.” And her daughter was healed from that very hour.  Matthew 15:28

Some men brought to him a paralytic, lying on a mat. When Jesus saw their faith, he said to the paralytic, “Take heart, son; your sins are forgiven.”  Matthew 9:2

For everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith.  1 John 5:4

So that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.  1 Corinthians 2:5

In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.  Ephesians 6:16

Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ.  Romans 10:17

So, what’s your faith worth?  What’s that thing that keeps bogging you down?  Don’t let it.  Rehearse what God has done for you and rest in the assurance that He’s not done with you yet.  Go ahead, exercise that faith!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

Whats your faith worth

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

