Fleeting Happiness

Sometimes, the words all rush forward at once and insist on coming out in rhythm and rhyme.  This is such a time.

Happiness is fleeting, elusive
Like sands slipping through an hour glass
Here one minute, gone the next
Leaving us longing for the past.
Our memories shore us up,
Dancing always at the edge of our minds
Reminding us it wasn’t always this way,
Giving us hope for happier times.
We reach for it, grasping
With an aching need to laugh again
Wondering how life can pass us by
And when will brighter times our way spin?
Yet in the midst of it all, He hears us
And rushes to our side in haste
Knowing this time is oh-so-hard
He doesn’t let it go to waste.
In our darkest moments, when prayer is reduced to “help me, please!’
His finest work is being done
Even as the load drives us to our knees.
It is there God truly meets us
Though we may not feel it at the time.
His angels surround us, guarding, protecting
Knowing God has said, “this one’s mine!”
When happiness dances our way again
And we can finally lift our head
It is then we will clearly see
It is true what His Word has said.
“I will never leave you or forsake you.”
“I work all things for your good.”
“I am close to the brokenhearted.”
“Your tears are recorded in My book.”
As our tears dry to tracks of salt
And our hearts swell with a happy glow
We’ll suddenly notice we’ve changed a bit
Honed and strengthened in our time of sorrow.
And as we celebrate in the joy He promised
Our testimony will point to the time
That we didn’t know how we would make it
Then Jesus said, “This one’s mine!”
We will walk in the sunshine, rejoicing
Ever prepared to share
With anyone who should need it,
God’s everlasting love and care.

For those who are in a time of sorrow, I’m praying for you and believing God’s promises that it will only last for a season.  If you’re walking in the sunshine, reach out to someone in their own storm.  2 Corinthians 1:3-4 says, All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is our merciful Father and the source of all comfort.  He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us.”

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

fleeting happiness 2

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fleeting Happiness

  1. DaRhema says:

    Very good write-up. Nice.

Leave a Reply

