White or Blue?

dress

 

 

 

 

 

If you’ve been on social media at all in the last 24 hours, you’ve probably seen this dress.  There is a huge debate on whether the dress is blue and black or white and gold.  (Duh.  Clearly, the dress is blue and brown!).  Although we had fun with it at our house last night, it didn’t dominate more than about five minutes of our time.  However, it seems to be causing some pretty hot debate in other places.  I’ve since seen the “scientific explanation” and it was pretty much as I expected – our brains interpret color and some people’s brains factored in blue tones and assumed it was a white dress in blue lighting.  Personally, I know that I may not be seeing the true color and would love to know what color it actually is.  Either way, blue or white, this dress has certainly dominated the media.  And it kind of astounds me.  I mean….it’s a dress.  Who cares what color it is?

As I was thinking about the dress, it made me think about other things we needlessly argue over, especially as Christians.  It only takes me about two minutes on FB each day to find some religious argument.  Remarkably, both sides are convinced they’re right.  And often, it’s two godly people doing the arguing.  It’s easy to dismiss a side when it comes from a person who clearly isn’t walking the walk of faith, but when you have two folks who love the Lord and seek to serve and honor Him, it’s hard to find the right and wrong of a spiritual debate.  And, I’m not sure we necessarily need to.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  I am opinionated.  If I wasn’t, I wouldn’t be a very good writer!  And, I’ve been criticized pretty heavily for some of my opinions – the latest being my staunch belief that The Fifty Shades of Grey is trash and has no place in the life of a believer.  And I do believe there are times we must stand for what is right.  But, most things that Christians argue about truly aren’t worth the time we give them.

In the last two years, I’ve attended two churches.  Both are Church of God in denomination.  Both have the same basic beliefs.  But, I was required to wear a skirt in one church and in the other church it simply doesn’t matter.  The first church mostly plays/sings older hymns and gospel music, the second church largely plays/sings contemporary or “worship” music.  There are many other differences, but I won’t detail them.  The point is that each church and its congregation would probably hotly contest the notion that their approach is wrong and may even be quick to point out that the other church’s approach is wrong.  But…what if….neither one is wrong?  What if the church is just tailored to suit the individual worship styles of the folks who attend?  What if God doesn’t care what clothes you wear and what music you use as long as the focus is on Him?  Hmmm….what if?

I guess what I’m trying to say is simply this: Let’s be so focused on the things that matter that the things that don’t matter don’t get in the way.  When Jesus was asked what the greatest commandment was, He said it was to love God, then love our neighbor.  (Matt 22, Mark 12, Luke 10).  He said that all the other commandments hinge on those two things.

When I think of that, it makes me think of this song I grew up hearing my mom sing:

  1. O soul, are you weary and troubled?
    No light in the darkness you see?
    There’s light for a look at the Savior,
    And life more abundant and free!

    • Refrain:
      Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
      Look full in His wonderful face,
      And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
      In the light of His glory and grace.
  2. Through death into life everlasting
    He passed, and we follow Him there;
    O’er us sin no more hath dominion—
    For more than conqu’rors we are!
  3. His Word shall not fail you—He promised;
    Believe Him, and all will be well:
    Then go to a world that is dying,
    His perfect salvation to tell!

So.  What are you focusing on today?  Is it worth your time and attention?  Think about it.

In the meantime, be blessed and tell someone you love them!

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to White or Blue?

  1. I hear what you’re saying and basically agree. It makes me sad when religious folks discredit the Bible by saying “this doesn’t matter anymore” or “we can forget about that now in our day.” However, Paul’s words to Timothy are still very relevant: The servant of the Lord shall not strive but be gentle unto all, patient, apt to teach, in meekness instructing those who oppose them…

    (As to the book “Fifty Shades of Grey”: I think there are books and movies being promoted in our society that would have been X-rated even in Sodom & Gomorrah.)

  2. I think the answer to so many of our squabbles in the church can be answered in the refrain of that old hymn you quoted. When we look at the beauty of Jesus the things of the world become dim. He matters more above all else and if we are living our lives in an effort to please Him then He is glorified no matter what style of music we sing or clothes we wear. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

