Prayers Up

Once again, Facebook has prompted a blog post.  I am in a private group on Facebook that is for caregivers of Alzheimer’s patients.  I joined when I was helping care for my sweet, sassy friend Lil and I just haven’t had the heart to leave the group yet.  So, this morning, I was reading about a mom with Alz who got mad and stomped tulips.  It was a heartbreaking, but amusing, story.  The stressed, worried daughter ended her post with the words “prayers up.”

Of course, my mind doesn’t tend to work like everyone elses’.  (Which is probably a really good thing!)  But, it made me think of my quirky little Star Wars junkie.  We frequently have space battles around here.  Often, they consist simply of shooting one another with our guns made of fingers.  (yes, I know.  I’m a great mom.)  The boy will often yell, “shields up!” in the middle of our epic battles so that my invisible bullets can’t penetrate.  Because, of course, raising your shield protects your ship.

prayers up finger gun

 

 

 

I’m not sure if my sweet little love lump understands yet that Star Wars is truer than one might realize. As I frequently say here, we are in a battle.  An epic battle.  There is good – God – and evil – satan.  (Understand this: there are no other options.  You’re serving one or the other. But, that’s another blog post) I’ve read the back of the book.  God wins.  But, satan wants to take as many of us as he can to hell.  Sometimes, it feels like we’re already there as we battle the demons that satan sends our way.  This fallen world is hard and it hurts.  We have sickness, death, betrayal, disappointment, frustration, fear….okay, I’ll stop there.  I think you get the point.

But.

But, God.

Or, as Psalm 3:3 puts it, “But You, O LORD, are a shield about me, My glory, and the One who lifts my head.”  

Ya know, I need that.  I need a shield to protect my heart from the things that satan sends against it.  And I need someone to lift my head, because it’s all too easy to find myself hanging my head out of sheer weariness.  That, of course, is exactly what the enemy of our souls wants.  Even if he can’t win us to hell, he can wear us down so that we live defeated lives.  But, it doesn’t have to be that way!

If you google images for Psalm 3:3, the shields you will most often find look like this:

prayers up shield

 

 

But, I think the Star Wars analogy is more correct.  Look at this shield:

prayers up star wars

 

 

 

 

Now, doesn’t that make you feel safer?  Yep, me too.  And I believe that’s the kind of shield the Lord puts around us!

It doesn’t matter what you’re facing today, I want you to know that God is bigger.  He’s bigger than your problems, your fears, your sickness.  He’s bigger than anything that can come against you.  He is your shield.  How do we deploy that shield?  Read all of Psalm 3 (in GOD’s WORD version) for the answser:

O Lord, look how my enemies have increased!
    Many are attacking me.
Many are saying about me,
    “Even with God on his side,
    he won’t be victorious.” Selah

But you, O Lord, are a shield that surrounds me.
    You are my glory.
    You hold my head high.

I call aloud to the Lord,
    and he answers me from his holy mountain. Selah
I lie down and sleep.
I wake up again because the Lord continues to support me.
I am not afraid of the tens of thousands
    who have taken positions against me on all sides.Arise, O Lord!
Save me, O my God!
    You have slapped all my enemies in the face.
    You have smashed the teeth of wicked people.
Victory belongs to the Lord!
     May your blessing rest on your people. Selah

There it is, in verse 4.  That’s how we get our shields up, “I call aloud to the Lord.”  Or, as my Facebook friend put it, “prayers up.”

And, just in case you’re still doubting that God is our shield, I found a few other scriptures that may help to convince you…

After these things the word of the Lord came to Abram in a vision, saying,“Do not fear, Abram, I am a shield to you; Your reward shall be very great.”  Genesis 15:1

“Blessed are you, O Israel; Who is like you, a people saved by the Lord, Who is the shield of your help And the sword of your majesty! So your enemies will cringe before you,
And you will tread upon their high places.”  Deuteronomy 33:29

The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.  Psalm 18:2

The Lord is my strength and my shield; My heart trusts in Him, and I am helped;
Therefore my heart exults, And with my song I shall thank Him.   Psalm 28:7

Our soul waits for the Lord; He is our help and our shield.  Psalm 33:20

For the Lord God is a sun and shield; The Lord gives grace and glory;
No good thing does He withhold from those who walk uprightly.  Psalm 84:11

O Israel, trust in the Lord; He is their help and their shield.  Psalm 115:9

For our shield belongs to the Lord, And our king to the Holy One of Israel.  Psalm 89:18

Every word of God is tested;
He is a shield to those who take refuge in Him.  Proverbs 30:5

So.  Whatever your day looks like, whatever you may be facing, however you may be feeling this morning, no matter what the enemy tries to throw against you, remember this….prayers up!  The Lord is your shield!

prayers up bubble psalm 3.3 2

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

