Is That You God?

Do you ever find yourself wondering if what you think you’re hearing from God is really Him?  I do.  Even though I know His voice.  And I know that I know His voice.  Yet, sometimes, I wonder.  Lately, I’ve wondered a lot.

This morning, God used a jewelry commercial to speak to that.

It’s getting close to Mother’s Day.  And, of course, every ad agency tries to tug at our heartstrings with mushy commercials promoting their product.  Pandora has been fast out of the gates with an ad that has a group of children and their moms. The moms are lined and the children brought out, one at a time.  After they see the line of moms, they are blindfolded and the moms change positions in the lineup.  The child must then find his or her mom, using only the senses of touch and smell. Of course, the kids invariably picked out the right mom.  And I may or may not have cried.

But, mostly, God used it to remind me of a truth I was struggling this week.

Of all the ways God could have related Himself to us, He chose to call us His children.  That means that those of us who have accepted Christ as our Savior, have also accepted God as our Father.

As God’s children, we can have a relationship with Him.  The way to grow that relationship is the same way we grow our relationship with anyone….time.  Time praying.  Time listening.  Time reading His Word.  Time with His people.  And, when you have a relationship with someone, you know their voice, their character.

Which leads me back to my first paragraph.  Sometimes, the things God asks us to do make no sense and make us question if we’re hearing correctly.  In fact, often that’s the case.  Do the names Noah and Moses ring a bell???

The song “Oceans” by Hillsong has been encouraging me lately.  Here are the lyrics:

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

[6x]
Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Oh, Jesus, you’re my God!

I will call upon Your name
Keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours and You are mine

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dy9nwe9_xzw

So.  Are you wondering if you’re hearing God’s voice?  Rehearse to yourself the times you’ve heard and responded to His voice before.  Ask yourself if this is in His character.  Then, take a leap!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

Is that you God

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is That You God?

  1. Paula says:

    I needed to read this today. This is one of my favorite songs and I love it’s message. Thx!

Leave a Reply

