Who Do You Trust?

A few weeks ago, I would have readily answered that question with an resounding “God!”  And, it’s true.  I do trust God.  Even when I don’t know what He’s doing, or why He’s doing it that way, I trust that He has everything firmly in control and if I will simply walk the path He has for me that, somehow, He will make it good.

But, I haven’t trusted solely in Him.

I meant to.  I thought I did.  But, in the last couple of weeks, He’s shown me that I have placed trust in those around me.  I have put them in places that are too hard for them to stay.  Placed them on pedestals, you might say.  Again, I didn’t mean to, but that doesn’t change the fact that it had happened.

I trusted the woman who hired me to do what she said she would do. I trusted my best friend to lovingly cover a transgression.  I trusted my teen to obey my teachings.  I trusted my husband to be the strong, godly, head of the household that he used to be.  In the span of about a week, every one of these trusts was broken.  Some could be helped.  Others not.  But, at the heart of it is this….I had placed my trust in the wrong ones.

When I searched the word “trust” on biblegateway.com, 170 references came up.  (In the NIV.  KJV had 188 references.)  Of all those, not one said to trust in another human being.  Some instruct us specifically NOT to trust in people.  (Psalm 49:13, Isaiah 2:22).  Other verses tell us not to trust in money.  Or walls.  Or ourselves.  A couple verses talk about being trustworthy ourselves.  But, by and large, the verses with the word trust talk about God.  Here are just a few….

Sovereign Lord, you are God! Your covenant is trustworthy, and you have promised these good things to your servant.  2 Samuel 7:28

Offer the sacrifices of the righteous and trust in the Lord.  Psalm 4:5

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.  Psalm 28:7

Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.  Psalm 37:3

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.  Psalm 56:3

Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.  Psalm 62:8

Lord Almighty, blessed is the one who trusts in you. Psalm 84:12

Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The Lord, the Lord himself, is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation.  Isaiah 12:2

You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.  Isaiah 26:3

But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.  Jeremiah 17:7

The Lord is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him.  Nahum 1:7

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.  Romans 15:3

These are just a few.  I think you get the point.  This is the song that’s been in my head since then:

  1. My hope is built on nothing less
    Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
    I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
    But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

    • Refrain:
      On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
      All other ground is sinking sand,
      All other ground is sinking sand.
  2. When darkness veils His lovely face,
    I rest on His unchanging grace;
    In every high and stormy gale,
    My anchor holds within the veil.
  3. His oath, His covenant, His blood
    Support me in the whelming flood;
    When all around my soul gives way,
    He then is all my hope and stay.
  4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
    Oh, may I then in Him be found;
    Dressed in His righteousness alone,
    Faultless to stand before the throne.

So, there it is again.  We are to trust in God.  He alone is our hope.  Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

Who do you trust

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

