Trusting My Journey

I have a new piece of jewelry that I’ve taken to wearing every day. It’s not fancy or flashy, expensive or exquisite. It’s not even something I would typically wear. But, life isn’t typical for me right now and my new bracelet reflects that brilliantly. You see, my black woven bracelet has a small medallion on it that has a cross on one side and the letters TYJ on the other, along with hearts on the ends of the pull-strings. And it’s a daily, hourly, moment-to-moment reminder for me that God is in control.

The letters stand for “trust your journey.” As I look at my journey, it’s looks somewhat like the path of the kid in the cartoon Family Circus. You remember the one who could never go straight to where he was supposed to be and his path looked like a bunch of squiggles and circles? Yep, that’s what I feel like my life looks like. And so many times people -good, godly people – have questioned my steps. I have questioned them myself. I’ve wondered if my imagination has taken hold and made me think God has directed something that He truly hasn’t. I have found, though, that those are the times that I can look back on my journey and see that God had it orchestrated perfectly, even when I thought He was crazy. ….maybe especially when I thought He was crazy!

As my life has unfolded in dramatic ways that have taken me completely by surprise in the last few months, I’ve had to remind myself that God wasn’t surprised at all. He knew every detail of what I was going to encounter and already has the provision in place. I have to constantly remind myself that I am His, I’m on His path, He loves me and will NOT lead me astray.

So, when the best friend and I found the TYJ bracelets, I knew I had to have one! (Thanks Amy). I know God will somehow use this for His glory. I trust that the right person (or people) will ask about my bracelet and I will be able to tell them about my journey. I want everyone to know that the badness of life doesn’t lessen the goodness of God…in fact, I think it makes it that much sweeter!

So what about you? What’s your journey look like? Psalm 37 says the steps of a good (wo)man – wo added by me! – are ordered by The Lord. Are your steps ordered? If not, seek Him and ask what He wants for you – it may not be easy but it will be good! If you are on His path, tell someone about your journey. Revelation 12:11 says, “And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony; and they loved not their lives unto the death.” Him is the devil and we have the power to overcome by rehearsing the goodness of God! Get out there and tell your story. Who, but God, knows who you might help?

Be blessed and tell someone you love them. Oh….and go read Psalm 37….that’s some good stuff!

20150705-102407.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

