Unexpected Beauty

Yesterday, the best friend and I took a little day trip. We found ourselves at Price Lake, just outside of Blowing Rock. We had recently discovered that renting a canoe was very inexpensive and wanted to give it a try. Now, what you need to know about us is that, although we love a good adventure, our adventures are typically pretty tame. We are no outdoorswomen! But, still, we wanted to try. The young man renting out canoes assured us that we’d be fine. So, he helped us in the boat, handed us our oars, and sent us on our way.

Wow! What a fantastic experience it turned out to be! We love enjoying the beauty of nature. We find that God tends to meet us on those outings in unexpected ways. Yesterday was no exception.

As we rounded our first turn (Crazily, I might add. She was letting me steer the boat!), I saw something out of the corner of my eye. A heron! As I haphazardly steered us closer, the bird decided we were too close and took flight. I heard myself gasp at the beauty and majesty of those large wings flapping and moving him (or her) low across the water…and out of the way of the crazy canoeists.

After that, we saw several more heron and made it our mission to get close enough to get a good picture. The last heron of the day provided just that opportunity – he was larger than the others and slightly more patient. As he swooped away from his perch to find another, he circled around us to afford us a better view (and photo opportunity!). I was certain that would be my coolest wildlife sighting of the day, and was perfectly okay with it, since the entire experience was breathtakingly beautiful.

After our long (one hour) boat ride, we were ready for something sweet. We drove back into Blowing Rock with the intention of going to Kilwin’s for ice cream. But first, I had to use the bathroom. (Anyone who has ever spent more than an hour with me will tell you that knowing where the bathrooms are is very important!). Amy found a cool spot to sit under a gazebo while I walked to the restroom. As I approached, there was a woman blocking the sidewalk, taking pictures of the flowers planted beside the bathrooms. Lots of pictures. Seriously. How many pictures do you need of those flowers lady? Then, I saw it. A tiny green hummingbird, flitting from flower to flower.

As I sit here, thinking about our trip, I can’t help but think about those birds. Although we weren’t expecting to see heron, we probably should have. After all, they are found near the water. I think it simply didn’t occur to us that they’d be there. But, the hummingbird was a different kind of gift all together. How like God to plant a bit of beauty in our way, in the midst of just living life.

As you go about your day today, look for it. A little gift from God. A bit of beauty in an unexpected place. And be sure to thank Him for it! After all, “every good and perfect gift is from above.” (James 1:17).

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

20150722-065345.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

