‘Tis So Sweet

For days, I’ve had the words of a song rolling through my head.  You may recognize the song.  These are the words:

Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!
How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er;
Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!
Oh, for grace to trust Him more!

Now, it’s not all that unusual for me to have songs in my head.  Even for days at a time.  But, sometimes, it’s just different and I think this may be one of those times.  God tends to prepare us for what is coming, and I have to wonder if He’s simply reminding me to trust.

I’ve written before on trust.  In the last few years, God has called me to trust Him in ways I couldn’t have imagined.  I have stepped out in faith (sometimes falteringly) and He hasn’t failed me.  I know God is a good, loving, trustworthy God.  And, I know that there are things going on in my life that I will have to exercise that faith in and simply trust that He knows best.

Yet, here I am, writing and wondering about that song.

Maybe someone else needs this message.  You know, trust is just another word for faith.  If I trust in God, then I have faith in Him and His ability to see me through any situation.  But, I believe it goes deeper than that.  To have faith in Him, I think I have to recognize His love for me, for it is that love that drives Him to do what’s best for me.

1 John 4:18 says, There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves punishment, and the one who fears is not perfected in love. (NASB).  Now, isn’t lack of faith simply fear of the unknown and refusal to trust because of that fear?  One of my favorite quotes is this, “We’re not necessarily doubting that God will do the best for us; we are wondering how painful the best will turn out to be.” (C.S. Lewis).  I believe that, often, it is fear of that pain that keeps us from trusting.

Right now, I have several situations that are requiring me to trust God.  I have a teenager going to college, I have bills that there never seems to be enough money to cover, I have a husband who is facing a serious diagnosis.  I have friends who are facing challenges also, some different from mine and some the same – grief, marital trouble, extra-marital affairs, dying parents, rebellious children, finances, job problems…and the list goes on.  In all of these, God is calling us to do the same thing: trust Him.

“How?”, you ask.  How do we trust God when we’re mostly terrified?  Well, I think the song holds a clue to that: we remind ourselves of all the times we’ve trusted Him before and He’s been faithful and we can ask for more faith.  Wait, what?  Yep.  We can ask God to increase our faith.  The disciples did it (in Luke 17).  Why can’t we?  And, I have to add, we have to remind ourselves of exactly how much God loves us.  Because, after all, perfect love casts out fear.  And if God is love, then how can He operate of of anything other than love?  He can’t.

So.  As you read this, and you think about what God’s calling you to trust Him in, I ask you to remind yourself of all the ways He’s proven Himself loving and trustworthy in your life.  Dig in His Word and find a few verses to hang onto.  And then, just do it.  Trust Him.  I promise He is worthy of your trust!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

PS Here are a few verses to get you started:

The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.  Zephaniah 3:17

But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.  Psalm 86:15

See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. 1 John 3:1

Give thanks to the God of heaven, for his steadfast love endures forever.  Psalm 136:26

But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  Romans 5:8

Tis so sweet

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

