Sinking Comforably

I have long been fascinated with the story of the Titanic. I’m not sure when the fascination started, but my dad had taught me that curiosity was a good thing and always encouraged me to learn more about what interested me. So, when I discovered the tragic tale of the long-gone ship, I found myself eager to read more. One of the things that always amazed (and dismayed) me was the fact that so many lifeboats were lowered partially empty, when so many souls lost their lives. How could that happen? According to the website ultimatetitanic.com, at first, folks didn’t realize they were truly in danger, as everything on the ship seemed fine. They were “reluctant to leave the warm, well-lit and ostensibly safe Titanic, which showed no outward signs of being in imminent danger, and board small, unlit, open lifeboats.” Add to that the fact that the very Captain himself doubted the seaworthiness of the lifeboats and you come up with disaster compounded. Many more lives could have been saved, but weren’t.

I suppose it is human nature to fear the unknown. But it seems utterly crazy to risk sinking and drowning when help is available. And that’s the moment that God reminds me of the parallel to our spiritual lives.

It makes me think of the times that we remain in a situation that God has clearly labeled as dangerous. How human of us to desire the relative known comfort of discomfort rather than to risk something else. Often, we prefer to stay in the frying pan, fearing that we will jump, only to discover ourselves in the fire. Since we humans are notoriously stupid (there’s a reason God calls us sheep), I’d say that’s a valid fear.

Except.

Sometimes God is clearly commanding us to jump ship and we ignore Him. We allow the fear planted by the enemy to keep us from doing what The Lord has commanded. 1 John 4:18 says, “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear.” So, the truth is that we doubt the love God has for us, at least in that situation. If we didn’t doubt His love, we would be willing to do His bidding without hesitation. Because the knowledge of His love would drive out any fear we have.

Have you found yourself in a situation that you knew wasn’t good for you? One that God has hinted, suggested, commanded you get out of? Maybe a job or friendship or relationship? Or maybe stuck in a habit that is harmful? Do you not believe God loves You enough to catch you after He commands you to jump? He does, you know. His love far surpasses anything we can think or imagine – and He can’t do anything contrary to that love, because He is love. (1 John 4:8).

So, my friends, the time has come. If you’re enjoying the warmth of the Titanic, it’s time to jump. I promise, God will catch you. And then you’ll know what true warmth and security are.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

20150923-043413.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

