A Life Well Lived

For the last 24 hours or so, the local news has been full of an accident involving a city bus and a pick-up truck, near Uptown Charlotte. Originally, it was news simply because the accident was horrific – the driver of the pick-up died and more than a dozen on the bus were injured. But, then, as details emerged, the story took on a new dynamic.

You see, the truck apparently lost its brakes. The driver had to make a split-second decision – plow into the back of stopped vehicles at a red light or swerve around and take a chance of a vehicle coming through the intersection. The driver took the chance and most probably saved at least one life. And lost her own.

It turns out that the driver was a well-loved preschool teacher. As I have watched and read the news, one thing has become abundantly clear – this woman lived a life that mattered. Her pastor spoke of how much she loved The Lord. Others spoke of how much she loved the children in her class. WBTV’s Molly Grantham wrote about Ms. Melanie’s death from a personal viewpoint. Her own daughter was in Ms. Melanie’s class. The last line of her Facebook status said, “Thank you Ms. Melanie for loving our kids so big.”

You know, life comes with no guarantees. None of us make it out alive. And we don’t know when that’s going to happen. The only thing we really leave behind is our legacy.

Now, y’all know I love Facebook. I love keeping up with my friends, seeing their kids’ pictures, rejoicing with them when things are good and mourning with them when life is too hard. But, there’s also a lot of craziness going on too. I recently read a blog that referred to the deity of Me. It seems everybody wants what they want and they don’t care who they hurt to get it. We all have the right to live life the way we see fit, but what happens when my rights plow over your rights? It’s a horrible, selfish world we live in. So many are seeking to fulfill self rather than living what the scriptures say.

Mark 10:44-45 says, “And whoever would be first among you must be slave of all. For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” Philippians 2:3-4 says, “Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.” Mark 9:35 says, “And he sat down and called the twelve. And he said to them, ‘If anyone would be first, he must be last of all and servant of all.'”

You probably notice nothing there upholds the “me first” mentality. The Bible is quite clear that we are to put others first. It seems that Ms. Melanie lived her life that way – even unto death.

So. What about you? Do you seek to serve those around you or are you in it for what you can get? That one detail will affect your every relationship – with your spouse, parents, siblings, children, friends, God. If your answer was that you are seeking to take instead of give and serve, there’s something you need to know. It ain’t about you. It’s about God. And His is the business you need to be about.

I don’t know about you, but when I get to heaven, I want to hear, “Well done, good and faithful servant.” (Matthew 25:21). And I want it to be said that I loved big.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

20150929-231638.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

