And the Rains Came

Unless you live under a rock, then I’m certain you’ve heard of the devastating flooding that South Carolina has experienced this week. Hurricane Joaquin strolled up the Atlantic, about 700 hundred miles off the coast. Another weather system, hanging out over the Carolinas, sucked moisture in from Joaquin, then promptly dumped it, in record-breaking amounts, on the states below. The result has been catastrophic flooding, causing roads and vehicles to wash away, houses to crumble, and lives to be lost. As I’ve looked at pictures of the damage, one of the oddest things to capture my attention is coffins (yes, with bodies inside!) bobbing along in the currents. The rain is washing the dead away!

I can’t help but think about the rains that fall in our lives. So often, when the storm comes and creates havoc, we want to lay the blame on the devil. But, what I’ve found is that it’s often in our personal storms that God uses the rain to expose, and wash away, that which doesn’t belong – the dead things in our lives.

What is a dead thing? Anything that gets between you and The Lord. Galatians 5:22-23 describes the fruit of the spirit as love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Conversely, Galatians also gives a list of dead works, or “desires of your sinful nature.” They are: sexual immorality, impurity, lustful pleasures, idolatry, sorcery, hostility, quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, selfish ambition, dissension, division, envy, drunkenness, wild parties, and other sins like these. (V. 19-21). Verse 21 goes on to explain that anyone living that life will not inherit the kingdom of God. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want anything getting in the way of me going to heaven!

So, is it raining in your life? Are dead, ugly things being exposed? Well, praise The Lord! That means He wants you to get them out of your life. And, while those coffins I saw need to be reburied, the dead stuff in your life doesn’t. Let it float away and thank God for His revelations and cleansing flood.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them! (And be sure to pray for South Carolina.)

20151006-002554.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And the Rains Came

  1. Paula says:

    I cannot thank you enough for this.

  2. dianemcp says:

    I needed this today. Thank you so much! Have a blessed day and “let it rain, let it rain, let it rain”.

Leave a Reply

