Are You Still There?

This week, my best friend has a birthday. Months ago, she decided she wanted to celebrate in the Keys and graciously invited me to tag along. So, Friday afternoon, after long weeks and a short day at work, reminding everyone of our plans, we hopped a plane to Miami. After a good night’s rest at a hotel, we got a rental car, set the address in the GPS for Seagulls Condos in Islamorada, and hit the road.

Driving out of the Miami airport and getting to the correct highway seemed a little sketchy, but the GPS, affectionately named Pleasure, was doing a fantastic job of directing us, with steady turn alerts and reminders. Then…she got quiet.

I may or may not have slightly panicked.

“Amy! Is she still on? Where did she go? Why isn’t she talking?”

Amy’s patient response was something along the lines of, “Calm down! You’re on the right road. It’s just not time to turn!”

Oh. Haha. Okay.

Suddenly, I was reminded of something I learned years ago in an “Experiencing God” Bible study. Henry Blackaby said, “Do the last thing God told you to do.”

Let that sink in a minute.

Do you ever did yourself beseeching God for a plan or maybe your life’s purpose or think He must’ve forgotten you because you haven’t received a new directive from Him in a while? I used to find myself in that position often. So, Blackaby’s statement was revolutionary for me. Just do what God told you to do and keep doing it until He tells you to do something else. Seems simple, doesn’t it?

Now, I must caution you, this only works if you’ve developed a relationship with God and have learned to recognize His voice in the midst of the chaos that is often our lives.

I was recently asked this question, “How do you make a decision?” Years ago, I learned that if I keep myself in constant relationship, communion with the One Who created me, then I’m much more likely to hear His voice when He urges me to turn. Isaiah 30:21 says, “Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” And I absolutely believe The Lord still speaks to us this way today, much as a friend will urge you to change directions when you’re walking side-by-side.

So. Does God seem quiet? Wondering what you should do? Did you do the last thing he told you to do? If the answer is no, you’d beat fix that! But, if the answer is yes, then, I think He’s probably saying, “Calm down! You’re on the right road. It’s just not time to turn!”

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

20151011-040542.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

