Do Your Best

This morning, before school, Jacob and I were talking about school – grades, behavior, etc. My boy isn’t a fan of school, so these conversations tend to be interesting. My advice was this, “Do your best.” I assured him I would never be upset if he simply did his best.

Ever have one of those days? You know, when nothing goes right, everything goes wrong and all you want to do is cry? I had one of those days. It felt like everything I touched fell apart in my hands. As I was lamenting to The Lord about how hard my day was, my advice to Jacob came back to me. God was speaking it to my heart. “Do your best.”

Later, I was texting a friend, asking for prayer, telling her I was discouraged. I mentioned that I should put on my big girl panties. What she said ministered to me more than anything else could have in that moment. She said, “It’s okay if the big girl panties aren’t working today.”

I won’t lie, my day didn’t go from thunderclouds to rainbows. But, I did have a bit of peace in the gloom. My day might be cruddy, but God was still with me.

You know, sometimes our best just isn’t good enough. The spouse still may leave, we may still have an accident, we might still not have enough money, we may still hurt someone’s feelings. Having Jesus isn’t a guarantee of a good life, it’s a guarantee of not having to go through this hard life alone. Some days the big girl panties just don’t work. On those hard days, I think God wants us to remember to just do our best. He knows, He understands and He will meet us right in the middle of our rotten day.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

