Why?

If you’re a regular here, you already know that I LOVE the beach.  Since I am such a beach bum, I’ve spent a fair amount of time in the ocean.  It’s not my favorite place to swim, but sometimes I can’t help myself.  The thing about the ocean is that, when it’s rough, it can get pretty crazy.  There’s nothing quite like managing to drag yourself up from being knocked over by a wave, only to be knocked down by another one.  Sometimes, you don’t even have time to get your eyes open again before another wave slams into you.

Have you ever noticed life can be just like that?  I know a family going through that right now.  They’ve lost several family members this year and got news last night that a grandmother had been in a horrible accident.  They feel as if they can’t catch a break and are asking the question, “Why?”

I can relate.  Our family has had a few waves knock us down over the last few years.  Enough so, that I have spent a little time in the book of Job, looking for something, anything to help me keep moving forward.  As I was up praying for this other family last night, God took me back to the book of Job.  And, I saw something that, somehow, I had missed in my other readings.

I happened to be reading in the New Living Translation – the dear husband’s study Bible, to be exact.  Because I may or may not have misplaced my favorite Bible.  In this case, though, I’m kind of glad.  Otherwise, I’m reasonably sure that I wouldn’t have noticed this verse.

In case you’re not familiar with Job, I’ll give you a quick Leigh-version rundown (as always, I recommend you read it for yourself, in a Bible of your choosing).  Job was a good man, wealthy, happy, with a wife and kids.  God was bragging on Job and satan said the only reason Job was so worshipful was because God had blessed him so mightily.  God knew Job’s heart and allowed satan to test him.  The only caveat was that satan couldn’t kill Job.  So, in a couple days’ time, Job lost everything – kids, livestock, servants, even his wife, who deserted him for not cursing God.  Then, a few friends came to help.  They “helped” by urging Job to confess his sin so his bad fortune would go away.  Finally, Job had had enough and started asking “Why.”  God spent four chapters asking Job who he thought he was to question the Creator.  He never answered Job.  Job got the point and answered with this,

“I know that you can do anything,
    and no one can stop you.
You asked, ‘Who is this that questions my wisdom with such ignorance?’
    It is I—and I was talking about things I knew nothing about,
    things far too wonderful for me.
You said, ‘Listen and I will speak!
    I have some questions for you,
    and you must answer them.’
I had only heard about you before,
    but now I have seen you with my own eyes.
I take back everything I said,
    and I sit in dust and ashes to show my repentance.” (Job 42:1-6)

Now, let’s look at verse 5,I had only heard about you before,
    but now I have seen you with my own eyes.  Wow.  Job was blameless before the Lord before his tragedies.  He was a truly good, godly man.  But, it took losing everything for him to make this statement.  The Life Application Study Bible put it this way, “Suffering allows us to see God for Who He is, rather than for what He does.”

Hmmm.

Do you love the Lord?

Would you still love Him if He was all you had?

Job loved Him more.

And, although my family hasn’t suffered nearly as much as Job did, I can honestly say the same about us.  Keith and I love the Lord more now than ever before, simply because we’ve seen and experienced Him in ways we couldn’t have without the bad things happening in our lives.  As the song by Kathy Troccoli says, “How Would I Know?”

If it wasn’t for the times that I was down
If it wasn’t for the times that I was bound
For all the times that I wondered
How I would ever make it through
All of the times that I couldn’t see my way
And I had to turn to You

How would I know You could deliver
How would I know You could set free
If there had never been a battle
How would I know the victory
How would I know You could be faithful
To meet all of my needs
Lord I appreciate the hard times
Otherwise how would I know

I remember all the times I had to cry
And at the time all I could do was wonder why
Why would a God so kind and loving
Allow me to go through all this pain
If I could see into the future
Then I would know the joy I’d gain

But how would I know You could deliver
How would I know You could set free
If there had never been a battle
How would I know the victory
How would I know You could be faithful
To meet all of my needs
Lord I appreciate the hard times
Otherwise how would I know

How would I know that you could
Make a way out of no way
How would I know if I never had a need
Brother, I know what you’re goin’ through
Sister, I know ’cause I’ve been in your shoes
But I can truly say that I know what God can do

How would I know You could deliver
How would I know You could set free
If there had never been a battle
How would I know the victory
How would I know You could be faithful
To meet all of my needs
Lord I appreciate the hard times
Otherwise how would I know
Otherwise how would I know

How would I know You could set free
How would I know You deliver me
How would I know You could make a way
How would I know You could meet my needs
How would I know
How would I know
I wouldn’t have known
I wouldn’t have known

Are you fighting the waves of life right now?  If so, hang on to the only Truth there is – Jesus Himself.  If not, then I urge you to rush to the side of someone who is and just be there, loving and encouraging them.  There are no answers to the question “Why?” But the presence of a loving, praying friend means more than you can know.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

Why

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

