AAUGH!

Yesterday was one of those days. Life was coming at me super fast and I was about to pull my hair out. There was the house with the tree on it. The insurance that got cancelled on the house with the tree on it. The college classes for the girl that mysteriously disappeared. The phone bill I forgot to pay. The mad 10 year old who didn’t get his way. The bills that piled up while I was looking for a full time job. And the new job which, of course, adds its own stress level, just by being new. I was ready to run away and start my career as a beach bum!

And I’m pretty sure this is an accurate depiction of me in the midst of it:

aaugh

 

 

 

 

When I went to bed last night, I had no peace, only exhaustion.

But God.

Yep, He stepped in. No, He didn’t magically erase all my worries. He simply reminded me of what I had forgotten. Worry fixes nothing.

At 3am, I was awake. As soon as I saw the clock, I knew it was Him. He reminded me that I had lost my focus. I had allowed the stress of what was happening, could happen, might happen rob me of my peace. Jesus said, “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” (Matthew 6:34, NLT).

The truth is that I can only do so much. I can pay the forgotten phone bill. (Done!). I can fax the one paper the insurance adjuster is waiting on. I can find insurance for the house (after it’s fixed). I can’t do anything about the classes. And the bills? The money will come for those. It’s all going to be okay. God hasn’t brought us this far to drop us. He is good all the time.

And, as I sitting here writing this, I think….”gosh, I know I’ve written about this before. Do we really all need the refresher?” And then I decided that, if I can so quickly forget how good God is and how useless worry is, then maybe you forget that sometimes too! So, here it is, in black and white, the truth of my chronic human condition. Sometimes I worry. Sometimes I let life drag me down. And sometimes God has to remind me that most of the things I worry about are completely out of my control anyway. What did God say to me in the midst of it? “Worship.” So I did. And as I worshiped, the problems slipped to the side and God was centered in my focus again, just where He should be.

So. Do you have a worry problem? Got a lot going on? Well, take a look at this verse. It comes just before the one I put above, “Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.” (Matthew 6:33, NLT). And there, my friends, is the answer. Seek God first. The rest will fall into place. I promise. Because He promises.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

aaugh2

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

