Running Away

It’s no secret that, when life gets tough, I want to run away. I’m a beach girl at heart, so a trip to the beach always sounds like a great plan. But, sometimes only the mountains will soothe that place in my soul that needs rest.

This is one of those times. The best friend and I have run away. When I told another friend of my plans, she reminded me to be careful to run to God as well.

Yes, I completely agree. And that’s why I’m here. Don’t get me wrong, best friend time is always a treat. But part of what makes our time together so special is that she understands my need to step away and still my mind and heart before The Lord. So she whisks me away so I’ll have that opportunity.

Psalm 46:10 says, “Be still and know that I am God.” Anyone who knows me knows that being still is not one of my strong points. Even my prayer time isn’t necessarily a time of stillness for me. It’s not really about my body being still, but my mind. I am like most women. My mind is constantly racing about any number of things. To list them would be exhausting. Yet, stilling my mind is exactly what’s needed to truly hear God’s voice.

Have you ever noticed that, when life is crazy, the one thing that helps the most is to talk it over with a trusted friend? Well, God is the best friend you’ll ever have. The friendship, like any other, must be cultivated with time together, quiet talks, laughter and tears, emotional intimacy. And, yes, an occasional trip is nice!

So. Here I am. Rushing to the mountain, looking to the hills from where my help comes. Stepping away from the wonderful chaos that is my life to rest in God. Tomorrow, I’ll be back, rested and ready to live this life to the fullest. Today, though, I am spending time with Jesus. And Amy. And I am so very thankful!

So, what about you? When’s the last time you got some quality time with Jesus? I highly recommend it. He makes everything better!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

20160121-123711.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

