White As Snow

If you’ve turned on the news at all this week, you’ve heard about a little thing called the Blizzard of 2016. Or Snowmageddon as some have dubbed it. I’m guessing, chances are, you got snowed on also. I think we got around eight inches or so here in the sticks. This isn’t the first snow we’ve had since we’ve lived in Alexander county, but it’s the first in this house. The views from this part of the boonies have been absolutely spectacular!

Because I work in a grocery store, snow doesn’t mean work is cancelled. So, I trudged in yesterday, fully prepared to leave early and get home before dark (because the dear husband requested it). But, as so happens, the plan changed. We ended up closing at 7, so I stayed to help close the store.

On the drive home, I was rewarded with some of the prettiest snow scenes I’ve ever seen. The full moon was high in a mostly cloudless sky. It’s bright white light glimmered off the snow, almost making it seem as if it was lighted itself. As I looked at the rolling hills covered in their blankets of white, I couldn’t help but think of the Bible telling us that our sins would be washed whiter than snow.

As has been my habit lately, I was up at 4am and was again astounded by the brightness of the moon on the crisp white. It’s so light outside, I can walk around my house with no lights. (And if you know me, you know that’s quite a feat because I am NOT a fan of the dark!). I have often heard the analogy of the moon to Christians. The moon reflects the light of the sun, giving us light at night. A soul sold out to Jesus should be reflecting the light of God. It would be more accurate to say that we beam with it from within, but you get my point.

As I gazed at that beautiful ball reflecting white light onto the snow, my brain starting trying the two thoughts together.

If we are truly God’s and have allowed the blood of Jesus to wash away our sins, then I believe our we are like the full moon hitting the snow. Our lives are brighter. Our very presence lightens the lives of others. Not by our own virtue, but by His alone, we will shine.

So. Do you shine? Do people seek you out for prayer, encouragement, a smile, a hug? Or are you like a storm cloud, full of gloom and doom? If you’re shining, seek folks out and shine God’s love on them. If you’re stormy, call out to Jesus. He wants to help you shine in the midst of your storm!

Oh. And since I didn’t give you actual scriptures up there, here ya go:

Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.” John 8:12

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. “Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” Matthew 5:14-16

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;
Wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.
Psalm 51:7

“Come now, and let us reason together,” Says the Lord, “Though your sins are like scarlet, They shall be as white as snow” Isaiah 1:18

Be blessed and tell someone you love them. Go shine that light!

20160124-060123.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

