Black Ice

I am a southern girl. A spring/summer/fall southern girl. A beach lover. I love that I live in the state of North Carolina. Except now. And times like now. When our “winter storm” turned out to be a day of drizzle and rain that fell while our temperatures were waaaay below freezing. Right now, I hate it.

Yesterday, the dear husband and daughter were both scheduled to work. We all work in grocery stores and winter weather doesn’t keep us from having to work (a different rant for a different day). When the dear husband did a 360 degree turn in the road, he turned it around and brought himself home. We then laid out the mandate that the dear daughter couldn’t go to work either. The culprit? Black ice.

If you’re not familiar, let me enlighten you. The roads look wet. But the temps are below freezing. So the “wet” spot is really ice that will grab your wheels and take you on a ride you never intended. To call it deceptive could almost be an understatement.

As I was surveying all the ice in my yard this morning, marveling at how much of it looked like water laying, I thought of the spiritual parallel. Yes, of course.

In this case, the parallel I saw was with relationships. Last night, as I was very busy doing absolutely nothing, I had two different conversations going on via Facebook messenger. They each involved strife with another person. One was a highly personal situation and the other was a work situation. The thing they shared in common was this – conflict that must be resolved.

Each person had a legitimate reason for feeling wronged. Each one has every right to be angry. Each one is a little unsure how to handle it. And no one would blame them if they went in with guns blazing.

But.

But God.

In His Word, God tells us to be cautious about what we say for, “the power of life and death lies in the tongue.” “A gentle answer turns away wrath.” “We wrestle not with flesh and blood.”

Oh. Uh oh. There it is. The black ice. We think we’re fighting a person, but the truth is that we’re not. We’re fighting the enemy of our souls. And if we’re not extremely cautious in the words we use, we can harm the one that the devil is using.

So, how to handle it? Carefully. With prayer. With a calm demeanor, focusing on the situation and not the person. Who knows, you may be battling for the very soul of this person without knowing it. What you say could make an eternity’s difference. (No pressure!)

The good news is that God doesn’t send us out to do anything on our own. He tells us that if we will love Him and love people, He will handle the rest. He tells us to gird ourselves in His armor and let Him fight the battle. He tells us what our attitude should look like – the fruit of the spirit is love, joy, peace, kindness, goodness, gentleness, self control. He tells us not to worry. I believe His promises don’t stand separate from each other, but all work together to help us hold firm when the black ice is trying to spin us in circles. Hold tight to Him and His promises. He’s gonna work it all out.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

20160217-060032.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

