The Pigeon

Last week, when I was visiting my Aunt Sharon in the hospital, mom and I walked out with Uncle Billy to get some fresh air. As we were walking out of the door, he asked if we had seen the pigeon. Ummmm….no???? It was such an odd question, I knew there must be a story. He pointed out a pigeon sitting just on the other side of the rail from the sidewalk. She had built her nest at the base of a water wall. (You know – one of those walls that have water constantly streaming down it.) The wall had been off for the winter and the weather was finally warm enough to get it going again. Except. There was a bird with babies right in the path of the water. Fortunately, some kind-hearted soul moved her nest over a few feet, just out of harm’s way. And even more fortunately, instead of rejecting the change, Ms. Pigeon just rolled with it and was calmly sitting on her babies, seemingly oblivious to all the activity around her.

As I watched her watching me, I couldn’t help but think of the times that God has moved me or (kept me where I was when I wanted to move), only to find out later that He had saved me from some destruction or trauma. It also made me think of how grumbly I can get when I don’t get my way. Those are the moments God has to remind me that He truly knows best.

What about you? Are you in a place you don’t want to be or didn’t mean to be? Is God moving you or keeping you in the same place when your heart longs for the opposite? Psalm 37:23-24 says, “The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. Though they stumble, they will never fall, for The Lord holds them by the hand.” So, breathe. Relax. Pray. Listen. Trust God. If He can arrange for Ms. Pigeon and her babies to be moved safely, He can do the same for you.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

20160404-090455.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Pigeon

  1. Paula says:

    I just got around to reading this. You have no idea how much I needed that. I’m trying SO HARD to focus on other things than how much I hate my current circumstance, the circumstance I put myself in. I know God has a purpose, I just ask for His guidance and that He keeps me focused.

Leave a Reply

