Windy!

I don’t know how the weather’s been where you are, but around here, mother nature has seemed a bit indecisive. We’ve had everything from let’s-open-the-pool to where-on-earth-did-I-put-my-jacket? in the last few weeks. And those March winds that are so famous? Yeah, they procrastinated this year and have completely taken over April. And the April showers are MIA thus far.

Last week, the sun had peeked out for a bit and I wasn’t hunting my jacket and the best friend and I got a rare day off together, so we went exploring. Pilot Mountain was our first destination. The views from the lowest lookout points were spectacular, so of course, I decided to climb higher! Amy found a nice place in the sun to settle and sent me on my way.

The short hike up to the higher lookout was a series of paved paths, wooden steps and rocks. The wind was whipping pretty good at the lower levels and I expected it to be stronger as I climbed, but I was completely unprepared for the way it was blowing when I got to the top lookout. As I was taking pictures, I just about had my phone blown out of my hand! And we won’t even talk about the way my hair was beating up my face! Needless to say, I didn’t last long before I headed back down.

As I hit another plateau of rocks, God stopped me in my tracks and said, “Listen.” The wind was blowing through the trees, making a sorrowful moan. As it buffeted my ears, it sounded like waves crashing against me. The thought occurred to me that I was glad my feet were secured on the rock.

Yep. That’s when it hit me. And they remembered that God was their rock. (Psalm 78:35) That’s where my feet are steady. The Rock. And I don’t mean Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson. I could hear God speaking to my heart. The winds will come in life. But, when our feet – our lives – are secure in Him, they won’t harm us. Our hair may blow. We may get cold and uncomfortable. The sounds may be terrifying. But, He will keep us steady.

So. Is it windy where you are? I know I have some friends who are battling. It feels as if the wind will blow you right off course. But, if you’re secure in God, any change will be from Him. The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord. Psalm 37:23. The context of “good” here is godly. So, if you belong to Jesus, then He will direct your paths. Just trust him. The wind that feels like it’s blowing you off course may be putting you exactly where He wants you.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20160412-091732.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

