Joy

I’ve song bombed myself this morning. The subject on my heart and brain is “joy.” So, I’ve been googling definitions, scriptures, song lyrics, all in an attempt to help me express what I feel God stirring in my soul right now. Of course, the one song that really stuck out was this:

I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy
Down in my heart (Where?)
Down in my heart (Where?)
Down in my heart
I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy
Down in my heart
Down in my heart to stay

Are you singing it yet? Good! You’re welcome.

Joy seems to be elusive in this world which we live. If my newsfeed on Facebook is any indication, very few of my friends have actual joy. The current source of rage is a gorilla who was shot in order to protect a child. (How have we become so jaded that the life of a gorilla is more important than the life of a child??? But, I digress.) There’s also a whole bunch of anger about the elections, gun control, who can marry who and which restroom we should use. Then, there’s the anger that hits closer to home – driving shaming and parking shaming and random shots of Walmart shoppers who should wear more clothing. It seems to be a constant flow of anger.

If you’ll look at that (very limited) list I typed above, you’ll see one thing in common. Me. My rights. My life. My feelings. Me, me, me.

Folks, this isn’t the life God wants us to lead!

God wants us to have joy. It even says in Nehemiah that the joy of The Lord is our strength. I’d say that makes it pretty important. But, where can we find joy? I mean, look around, life is hard and so many people are so unhappy. Can joy still be found?

Yes, I think it can.

The next verse of my song-bomb song says,

I’ve got the love of Jesus, love of Jesus
Down in my heart….

Coincidence? I don’t think so.

Galatians 5:22-23 says, “But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.”

Read that carefully. The Holy Spirit produces… So, God gives us the stuff we need. He gives us the joy that will be our strength? But…how?

Relationship.

Amy and I are best friends and have been a few years. We’re those friends that other people make fun of. I know her almost as well as I know myself. I know her schedule, her hopes, her fears, her dreams. I know her flaws and her strengths. I know how to make her smile and laugh. We have adventures that should, most likely, warrant our own reality show.

How do I know all this? Relationship.

Everything in the natural is paralleled with something in the spiritual. The way we get to know our Heavenly Father and have a close relationship with Him is the same way we cultivate our human relationships. Time. Time talking and listening. Reading texts and Facebook messages. Oh wait, God doesn’t have a Facebook? Open your Bible, He’s written you a whole book! God still speaks, quiet your mind, still your heart and listen!

A long time ago, my dear friend Michelle preached about the fruit of the spirit. It was a fantastic teaching and she said a lot of good stuff. But the thing that has really stuck with me is this – if you’re having to try and produce the fruit of the spirit, you’re not looking in the right place. You can’t do it. It’s either there or it’s not. And God is the only place it can come from.

So. Have you lost your joy? Is peace hard to find? Is your temper short and your heart agitated? Stop. Breathe. Look for Jesus. He’s everywhere and waiting for you to reach out.

I read a scripture this week that summed it up perfectly for me.

“Cease striving and know I am God.” Psalm 46:10.

That’s it. Quit trying so hard. Let go of what you’re trying to control and grab hold of God. He’ll give you what you need, when you need it. He promises.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

20160601-094910.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joy

  1. And I’m so happy, so very happy I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart (down in my heart)!
    You sent me right back to Vacation Bible School!
    Blessings, Leigh

Leave a Reply

