A Helping Hand

The family and I had the opportunity to go to Great Wolf Lodge for the day, thanks to sister Terry. We had a fantastic time in the pools and on the slides. One of Jacob’s favorite things was an obstacle course. There were “logs” and “lily pads” floating just under a cargo net. The object is to walk on the floating objects to cross the pool, using the net to help hold yourself up. As I was waiting for Jacob to take his final turn of the day, I saw a little boy, much younger than Jacob, try to cross. He only made it across a couple logs before he fell in the pool. As I was watching him struggle, I noticed his dad in the pool, just on the other side of the rope, encouraging the boy. When the dad saw that the boy couldn’t do it alone, he crossed over, picked the boy up and stood him back on a log. Then, he held onto his son, helping him get to the other side.

Immediately, it made me think of our Heavenly Father. What a great picture this painted for me! Psalm 40:2 says “He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.” (NIV) In Mattjew 14, we read an account of Jesus walking on the water and Peter requesting to join Him. Jesus told him to come. Peter did fine until he focused on the waves, then he began to sink. He called out and Jesus lifted him out of the water. 

My friends, God hasn’t changed! He is still in the business of rescuing His children! In Exodus, the name God gave Himself (to Moses) is I Am. As we look through the different names God gives Himself, they are things like, Fortress, Refuge, Sanctuary, an Ever-Present Help, Defender, Father, He Who comforts you, Peace, Shield, Comforter, Advocate, Confidence, Hope, Light and Song (just to name a few!). As I look at this list, I believe “I Am” covers it all. He Is all we ever need.

Are you in need right now? Has life thrown more at you than you can handle? Does it feel like you’re toppling off your log? Call out to your Daddy. He is “able to do more than all we ask or imagine” (Ephesians 3:20) and He is faithful. And He is whatever you need. You only need to ask.Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

