Afraid of the Dark

True story: I am afraid of the dark. Hate it. I keep thinking I will get beyond it, but so far, I haven’t. It’s not really the dark I’m afraid of – it’s what might be lurking in the dark that scares me!

The thing is, most of the time the objects that scare me are completely benign and harmless. Once the light is shined on them, they turn out to be tree limbs or bushes or towels left by the pool or…well, about anything.

Fear raised its ugly head in another place in my life recently. For weeks, this fear had been creeping in. I tried to talk it away, rationalize it away, ignore it away. But, still it was there. Finally, my best friend spoke truth into the situation. 

The Bible says that perfect love casts out fear (1 John 4:18). We also know that Jesus said, “I am…the Truth.” (John 14:6). In John 8:6, Jesus declares, “I am the light of the world.” 1 John 1:5 says, “God is light.” And in 1 John 4:8, we read that God is love. So, the moment we speak God into a situation, we are speaking truth and love. We’re shining a light in dark places.

That’s what my sweet friend did for me. She shined a light into the dark place of my fear. The light revealed my insecurities – those I try so hard to hide. But, like the trees in the daylight, once the light was on the source of my fear it didn’t seem scary at all. In fact, I felt guilty for being insecure and seeing threat where there is only a soul like me, just doing the best she can.

What are you afraid of my friend? Have you allowed God to shine into that dark place? Now would be a really good time to start. Chances are, the monsters in your dark are nothing more than tree limbs swaying in the wind.

If it’s a friend whose fears are getting the best of him or her, be a good friend. Speak the truth in love. And watch God do some amazing things!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

